November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Sociology



Sociology has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Sociology HM
Clinical Sociology HM585-586
Educational Sociology LC191.4
Historical Sociology HM487
Industrial Sociology HD6955
Social Psychology HM251
Social Structure HM131
Social Systems HM51


Sociology Print Resources


Dictionaries


Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology; A User's Guide to Sociological Language. - This is a one volume dictionary that contains explanations to terms, themes, and ideas basic to sociology. The individual articles in the book include further reading suggestions and the volume has an index as well as a biographical sketches section.[REF HM17.J64 1995]

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. - Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. [REF HM425.C36 2006]

A Glossary of Cultural Theory. - A reference resource that provides the researcher and student with lucid and up-to-date guidance through the vibrant and changing debates in cultural studies and related disciplines. This dictionary covers the theories and ideas of culture.[REF HM621.B76]

Oxford Dictionary of Sociology. - Published by Oxford University press this reference book is a compilation of ideas, theories, and people important to the study of sociology and its constituent fields.[REF HM425.D5735 2005]

The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology. - This single volume reference resource contains concise discriptions of people, concepts, debates, and schools of thought that are important to the study of sociology.[REF HM17.A23 2006]

The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology. - It has over 1000 entries on major sociology concepts and theorists. Written in easy to understand language this reference work is well suited to individuals new to the field of sociology.[REF HM425.B78 2006]


Encyclopedias


The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. - This is a single volume work that has articles that detail the ideas, theories, and methodologies important to Social Psychology. Articles contain bibliographies and the work does have an index.[REF HM251.B476 1995]

Encyclopedia of Social Theory. - This reference book covers the major themes, concepts, debates, schools, and theorists important to the study of social theory. Articles have a limited list of references and the resource does include an index.[REF HM425.E53 2006]

Encyclopedia of Sociology. - The second edition of this reference resource is a five-volume, 3,481-page work containing 397 lengthy, signed articles with extensive references. It covers the major themes and theories in the study of sociology.[REF HM425.E5 2000]


Handbooks


The Handbook of Social Psychology. - A two volume set of reference books detailing the history, themes, and major ideas of social psychology. The volume's articles contain extensive bibliographies and both books contain a name as well as subject index.[REF HM251.H224 1998]


Journals


American Journal of Sociology. - The oldest continuously published U.S. scholarly journal in its field, the periodical presents groundbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. The American Journal of Sociology strives to speak to the general sociology reader and present informed articles from not only sociologists but anthropologists, statisticians, economists, historians, and political scientists.[PER HM1.A7]

British Journal of Sociology. - Published by the London School of Economics and Political Science this journal covers a wide verity of topics dealing with theory and research in the study of sociology.[PER HM1.B75]

The Journal of Social Psychology. - This periodical publishes original empirical research in all areas of basic and applied social psychology. [PER HM251.A1 J6]

Public Relations Review. - This journal covers empirical research in the field of public relations as well as containing notes on research in brief and book reviews.[PER HM263.P767]

Qualitative Sociology. - This is a serial dedicated to the qualitative interpretation and analysis of social life.[PER HM1.Q34]

Small Group Research. - This is an international and interdisciplinary journal presenting research, theoretical advancements, and empirically supported applications with respect to all types of small groups.[PER HM133.S645]

Social Psychology Quarterly. - This periodical publishes theoretical and empirical papers on the link between the individual and society. The journal includes the study of the relations of individuals to one another, to groups, collectivities, and institutions. It also details the study of intra-individual processes insofar as they substantially influence, or are influenced by, social structure and process.[PER HM1.S8]

Theory and Society. - This journal is a forum for the international community of scholars that publishes theoretically informed analyses of social processes. It opens its pages to authors working at the frontiers of social analysis, regardless of discipline.[PER HM1.T5]


Sociology Electronic Resources


Databases


JSTOR - is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF images and over 450 full text articles.

Science Direct - provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

Social Sciences Full Text - covers "a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals." It includes some full text/full image articles, but also some abstracts without full text.

SocINDEX with Full Text - has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items.


Websites


Gallup Poll - Website of the Gallup organization offering free as well as paid services. Resource offers statistics and articles on public opinion about numerous contemporary issues.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) - Created by the University of Michigan this electronic resource contains the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.

Institue for Policy Research - This web resource was created by Northwestern University. It includes information on poverty, race and inequality; child, adolescent and family studies; community development; law and crime; health care policy; environmental policy; and government.

Social, Economic and Political Change - This site has World Social Change reports, reviews of main world demographic and political changes and data. This site also links to free information about long term changes in political, economic and social systems.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-02-2009 14:18