Social Work
Social Work has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Social Work | HV40 |
| Social Service | HV |
| Abused Wives Services For | HV6626 |
| Blind Services For | HV1643-1646 |
| Communication in Social Work | HV11-43 |
| Medical Social Work | HV688 |
| Psychiatric Social Work | HV689 |
| School Social Work | HV713 |
| Social Case Work | HV43 |
| Social Group Work | HV45 |
| Social Workers | HV41 |
| Women Services For | HV1444-1445 |
Social Work Print Resources
Dictionaries
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America. - Arranged alphabetically this reference resource gives a well rounded biographical sketch of the major figures in the history of social welfare in the United States. The single volume also includes a subject index and a listing of subjects by birthdate. [REF HV27.B57 1986]
Collins Dictionary: Social Work. - A resource on social service terms used in the United Kingdom. It is arranged alphabetically but lacks references and an index of subject terms. [REF HV12.C655 2002]
The Social Work Dictionary. - Covers topics, persons, programs, and organizations within the frame work of social work and welfare in the United States. The reference resource also contains a time line of mile through out world history. [REF HV12.B37 2003]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. - This encyclopedia looks at the major people, forces, and policies of welfare in North American history. It covers Mexico, The United States, and Canada. The single volume includes a master bibliography and a subject index. [REF HV12.E497 2005]
Encyclopedia of Social Work. - Divided into four volumes this set covers topics, policies, theories and individuals in human services. Articles within the work contain references and volume four has an index and biographies of important people in the social work field. [REF HV35.S6]
Miscellaneous
Comprehensive Hanbook of Social Work and Social Welfare. - This four volume set covers social work practice, social policy, policy practice, human behavior in the social environment, and the profession of social welfare. Each volume includes its own index and references. [REF HV40.C635 2008]
Social Workers' Desk Reference. - "covers everything that a practitioner needs to know in order to be effective in clinical social work practice and offers important foundations for all social work practitioners. The single volume includes an index, glossary, and extensive references." [REF HV40.S6464 2002]
Journals
Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions. - is designed to help social work practitioners stay abreast of the latest developments in the field of addictions. This journal publishes refereed articles on innovative individual, family, group work, and community practice models for treating and preventing substance abuse and other addictions in diverse populations. [PER HV5800.J68a]
Social Work - is a professional journal committed to improving practice and extending knowledge in social work and social welfare. The goal of the periodical is to yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and reasearch, examine current social problems, and bring serious critical analysis to bear on problems of the profession itself. [PER HV1.S644]
Social Work in Health Care: A Quarterly Journal. - is devoted to social work theory, practice, and administration in a wide variety of health care settings, this journal gives you the tools to improve your practice while keeping you up-to-date with the latest crucial information. [PER HV687.A2 S6]
Social Work in Mental Health. - This journal offers quality articles on clinical practice, education, research, collaborative relationships, mental health policy, and the delivery of mental health care services. [PER HV689.S678]
Social Work Research. - is a professional journal committed to advancing the development of knowledge and informing social work practice. The serial is one of the chief outlets for primary research articles in social work and social welfare. [PER HV1.S6475]
Social Work Electronic Resources
Databases
PsycINFO - "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."
Social Sciences Full Text - covers "a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals." It also includes full text/full image articles.
Social Work Abstracts - "contains more than 35,000 records ... from social work and other related journals." A second browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check Social Work Abstracts and then click on Open Selected Databases.[Uses Pop-Up Windows]
SocINDEX with Full Text - has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items.
Websites
Administration for Children & Families (ACF) - This HHS agency is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities. Site provides resources, research, and publications related to children and families.
Center for Law and Social Policy - The Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP) is a national non-profit that works to improve the lives of low-income people. Site provides resources on child welfare, welfare policy, workforce development, and several other topics.
Fast Stats A to Z - Health and general demographic statistics on topics such as alcohol use, divorce, and mental health.
Fedstats - A gateway to statistics from over 100 federal agencies. Makes it easy to find numbers collected by the federal government "without having to know in advance which agency produces them."
Office of Human Services Policy (HSP) - Focuses on welfare, poverty, service delivery issues, data for research, and policies affecting children, youth and families. It is in the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Planning and Evaluation, HHS.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - HHS is the US government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.