November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Rehabilitation Services



Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. --Leo F. Buscaglia

Rehabilitation Services has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Rehabilitation RM930
Medical rehabilitation RM930
Vocational rehabilitation HD7255.5
Rehabilitation counseling HD7255.5
Alternative medicine R733
Disabled -- Rehabilitation HV1553
Rehabilitation centers RC439


Rehabilitation Services Print Resources


Dictionaries


Key words in physical rehabilitation: a guide to contemporary usage. - New York: Springer Pub. Co., 1995. Applicable to both students and professionals, this resource clarifies definitions and usage of terms in the field of rehabilitation. Each term contains a central definition as well as alternate definitions. It includes bibliographical references. [REF RM930.K47 1995]

Dictionary of rehabilitation. - New York: Springer Pub. Co., 1995. This resource provides the main terms that describe and explain what is involved with the rehabilitation process. Definitions are concise and useful for practicing professionals as well as students. It includes bibliographical references. [REF RM930.D455 1995]

Idyll Arbor's therapy dictionary. - Ravensdale, WA: Idyll Arbor, 2001. This resource is useful for therapists, educators and psychologists. It provides definitions of terms needed in the field of therapy in order to effective and definitions of diagnoses that give the cause, common limitations and implications for therapeutic intervention. It includes bibliographical references. [RM930.B87 2001]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation. - New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1995. This resource provides information on the medical and social aspects of disability and rehabilitation, available therapies, processes, concepts, support sources, and easy-to-understand explanations of terms and procedures. It is useful for students, professionals, patients and family members. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF HV1568.E53 1995]


Handbooks, Guides, Directories


Guide to rehabilitation. - 3 vols. New York, N.Y.: M. Bender, 1985- This reference resource was written for practicing professionals. It is updated frequently and contains information relevant to vocational rehabilitation counselors, rehabilitation nurses, social workers, occupational therapists, rehabilitation psychologists and hospital social workers. It includes bibliographies, an index, and case reviews as well as legal and medical information. [REF RM930.D44]

Directory of drug & alcohol residential rehabilitation facilities. - Millerton, NY: Grey House Pub., 2003- This resource provides detailed information about nationwide facilities, including mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, email addresses and web sites. Information about mission statements, costs, accreditation, accepted insurance plans and more are provided for the entries as well. [REF RC563.6.D575 2004]

Practical manual of physical medicine and rehabilitation: diagnostics, therapeutics, and basic problems. - St. Louis: Mosby, 1998. This resource provides information on physical medicine, rehabilitation, pharmacology, joint and soft tissue injections, nerve blocks and trigger point therapy. It is useful for physiatrists, physical therapists, neurologists, orthopedists and occupational therapists. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RM701.T36 1998]

Handbook of physical medicine and rehabilitation basics. - Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1995. This resource covers the fields of physical medicine and rehabilitation. It covers the areas of epidemiology, pathology, diagnosis and treatment for rehabilitative care. Written for students, it includes bibliographical references and an index. [RM700.H15 1995]

The rehabilitation specialist's handbook. - Philadelphia: Davis, 1991. This resource contains illustrations, tables and charts. It covers topics, such as geriatrics, the ADA, outcome measures, pharmacology, general medicine, burns, AIDS, kinesiology, psychology, massage and more. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RM735.3.R68 1990]


Journals


American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. - This scholarly journal focuses on the practice, research and educational sides of physical medicine and rehabilitation. Issues contain clinical case reports, detailed topical reviews and the newest basic and clinical research. [PER RM735.A1 O3]

Journal of Rehabilitation. - This scholarly journal is published by the National Rehabilitation Association. Its focus is on leading research in the area of rehabilitation. [PER LB1051.R44]

Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development. - Published by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, this journal focuses on the field of rehabilitation medicine and technology. It is scientifically indexed and publishes original research papers as well as review articles and clinical commentary from researchers worldwide. [PER RD130.B8]

Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation. - This journal offers a forum for the discussion and outreach of information about the areas that make up vocational rehabilitation. Issues cover topics that assist rehabilitation counselors, psychologists and other professionals involved with providing services to people with disabilities. [PER HD7255.A2 J69]

Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin. - This periodical covers topics that are important to practicing rehabilitation counselors in the areas of counseling, education and research. Issues include observational and experimental research, theoretical essays, literature reviews, case studies, research critiques and media reviews. [PER HD7255.A2 R42]

Rehabilitation Psychology. - Published by the American Psychological Association, this journal focuses on the psychological and behavioral sides of rehabilitation. It is peer-reviewed and provides scholarly research, historical papers, ecological studies, book reviews and more. [PER RM930.A1 R415]


Rehabilitation Services Electronic Resources


Databases


CINAHL Plus with Full Text- indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.

The Cochrane Library- " is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care."

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition- "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis.

MEDLINE (EBSCO) - indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

Mental Measurements Yearbook- "contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks."

PsycINFO- "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."

Alternative Health Watch- "provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals...[with] in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990."


Websites


MEDLINEPlus- is a "goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine."

PubMed- "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services- This government site provides health and human services information. Links to jobs, grants, health care prevention, current health concerns, regulations and more are available on this site.

National Library of Education- This government site is home to the largest federally funded education library. It provides information about programs and activities in the Department of Education, publications from the Department as well as education materials from other federal agencies, services and resources available through ERIC, and statistics from the National Center for Education Statistics.

Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)- Part of the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides information for parents, individuals, school districts and states regarding special education, vocational rehabilitation and research. It contains information for people with disabilities of all ages.

National Rehabilitation Association- This site is a member based organization that provides information about current practices, advocacy, awareness and career advancement for professionals in the rehabilitation fields. Information about current government legislation, seminars, and educational and employment opportunities are available.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-03-2009 16:08