Psychology
Psychology has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Psychology | BF |
| Adolescent psychology | BF724 |
| Animal Psychology | BF660-685 |
| Child Psychology | BF721 |
| Cognitive Psychology | BF311 |
| Criminal Psychology | HV6080 |
| Developmental Psychology | BF712 |
| Educational Psychology | LB1051 |
| Environmental Psychology | BF353 |
| Feminist Psychology | BF201.4 |
| Genetic Psychology | BF711 |
| Humanistic Psychology | BF204 |
| Parapsychology | BF1031 |
| Political Psychology | JA74.5 |
| Psychoanalysis | BF173 |
| Psychobiology | QP360 |
| Social Psychology | HM221 |
Psychology Print Resources
Dictionaries
APA Dictionary of Psychology. - A dictionary created by the American Psychological Association covering concepts, processes, assessment instruments and therapies as well as important persons and organizations dealing with psychology. Appendixes are included in the dictionary including separate lists for biographical, institutional, organizational, test, and psychotherapy and psychotherapeutic approach entries. [REF BF31.A65 2007]
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. - This reference resource contains short biographical sketches of important individuals in all fields of psychology. Articles include principle publications and suggestions for further reading on the persons detailed.[REF BF109.A1 B56 1997]
The Blackwell Dictionary of Cognitive Psychology. - Single volume dictionary that details the major terms and concepts of cognitive psychology. Includes bibliographic references at the end of articles.[REF BF311.B535 1991]
The Dictionary of Psychology. - This is a general lexicon of terms, ideas, and theories of psychology. Written in easy to understand language this is a perfect dictionary for beginning students in this complicated subject.[REF BF31.C72 1999]
Oxford Companion to the Mind. - This single volume dictionary catalogs the major terms, persons, ideas, and theories of modern psychology as well as cognitive science. The resource contains a glossary and index.[REF BF31.O94 2004]
Wiley's English-Spanish and Spanish-English dictionary of psychology and psychiatry. - An English/Spanish and Spanish/English dictionary that contains translated psychology and psychiatry terms.[REF BF31.K36 1995]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial fo rthe National Counselor Examination and State Counseling Exams. - This is a single volume study and reference guide for the National Counselor and State Counseling Exams. It is less of an encyclopeia as it is set up more like a examination guide or handbook.[REF BF637.C6 R6734 2002]
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment. - Two volume set encyclopedias covering issues, methods, and theories of the study of a given human or group in a specific applied field. Articles include extensive references and related entries for further exploration.[REF BF176.E53 2003]
Encyclopedia of Psychology. - This eight volume set of encyclopedias describes the topics, methods, findings, advances, and applications that characterize the broad field of psychology. Individual articles have short bibliographies and volume eight has the index for the entire set of books.[REF BF31.E52 2000]
Handbooks
Handbook of Child Psychology. - This handbook is made up of mutiple volumes dealing with the theory, systems, and models of early human development. Each book is made up of articles which include extensive references. The individual volumes also have both author and subject indexes.[REF BF721.H242]
Handbook of Psychology. - A multi-volume reference set that discusses the present state of psychological knowledge and details anticipated advances in behavioral science research and practice. Each volume analyzes a major catagory of psychology. Individual artiles contain major references and each volume has an author index as well as a subject index.[REF BF121.H1955 2003]
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology. - Four volume set detailing the issues, methods, and theories of experimental psychology. Articles in the various volumes include extensive references and the individual books of the set have both an author as well as a subject index.[REF BF181.H336 2002]
Journals
Applied Psychology an International Review. - This serial is a peer-reviewed, truly international outlet for the scholarly dissemination of findings in applied psychology. Articles in the periodical include but are not limited to organizational, cross-cultural, educational, health, counseling, sport, and environmental psychology.[PER BF636.A1 I53]
The American Journal of Psychology. - This periodical was founded in the interest of general experimental psychology and is devoted to the basic science of the mind. The journal publishes reports of original experimental research, presentations of theory, theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and reviews of books in the area of psychology.[PER BF1.A5]
Journal of Comparative Psychology. - This journal publishes original empirical and theoretical research from a comparative perspective on the behavior, cognition, perception, and social relationships of diverse species. Studies can be descriptive or experimental and can be conducted in the field or in captivity.[PER BF1.J572]
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology. - This periodical publishes papers that focus on the interrelationships between culture and psychological precesses.[PER BF728.J65]
Journal of Experimental Psychology: General. - The goal of this serial is to publish articles describing empirical work that bridges the traditional interests of two or more communities of psychology.[PER BF180.J672]
Psychological Reports. - The purpose of this journal is to encourage scientific originality and creativity in the field of general psychology. It carries experimental, theoretical, and speculative articles and comments.[PER BF21.P843]
Social Cognition. - This periodical seeks to advance understanding of the role of cognitive processes in social psychology and behavior. The journal emphasizes three broad concerns: the processes underlying the perception, judgment, and memory of social stimuli; the effects of social and affective factors on the processing of information; and the behavioral and interpersonal consequences of cognitive processes.[PER BF311.S64]
Psychology Electronic Resources
Databases
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF images and over 450 full text articles.
PsycInfo - "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."
Social Sciences Full Text - covers "a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals." It also includes full text/full image articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text - has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items.
Websites
World Health Organization: Mental Health - The World Health Organization's webpage dealing with mental health issues. The internet resource is available in a number of different languages and has links to publications as well as statistics that deal with this subject from an international prespective.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism - A government website created by the National Institutes of Health. It includes statistics as well as information concerning alcohol abuse and alcoholism.
National Institutes of Health - Created by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services this web resource has medical as well as mental health informaiton. The website also has links to the National Institute on Aging, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institute on Drug Abuse, and National Institute of Mental Health.
National Institute of Mental Health - This is one of the National Institutes of Health, it deals primarily with mental disorders other issues of mental health. This web resource contains numerous materials including streaming video, statistics and articles.