November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Physician Assistant



The art of healing comes from nature, not from the physician. Therefore the physician must start from nature, with an open mind. -- Philipus Aureolus Paracelsus

Physician Assistant has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Physician assistants R697
Medical assistants R728.8
Nurse practitioners RT82.8
Clinical medicine RC46
Internal medicine RC46


Physician Assistant Print Resources


Dictionaries


Mosby's pocket dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions. - St. Louis, Mo.: Mosby/Elsevier, 2006. Definitions are concise and include medical terms, definitions and pronunciations from the fields of nursing, medicine and other health related professions. It is applicable to both students and professionals. [REF R121.M892 2006]

Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, & allied health. - Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders, 1997. This reference resource gives readers definitions and explanations for the terminology used in the fields of medicine, nursing and health related professions. Its emphasis is multidisciplinary. [REF R121.M65 1997]


Encyclopedias


Gale encyclopedia of medicine. - 5 vols. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. This reference resource provides authoritative, detailed information on topics relating to medicine. It contains illustrations, is easy to understand, and includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF RC41.G35 2002]

Gale encyclopedia of nursing & allied health. - 5 vols. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. Useful for students and professionals, this reference work covers the areas of diseases, tests and procedures, equipment, body systems, techniques, health issues, as well as nursing and the allied health professions. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF RT21.G353 2002]


Handbooks


The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy. - Rahway, N.J., Merck, Sharp & Dohme Research Laboratories [etc.] 1899- This illustrated reference resource is applicable to both students and professionals. It covers body systems, medical specialties, diagnoses and treatments for medical disorders. [REF RC55.M4]

The physician assistant medical handbook. - Philadelphia: Saunders, 2004. This resource was written by physician assistants for physician assistants. It discusses symptoms, pathophysiology, laboratory studies, differential diagnosis, treatment, and pediatric and obstetric considerations for commonly encountered conditions. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [R697.P45 P484 2004]

Physician assistant's clinical companion. - Springhouse, Pa.: Springhouse Corp., 2000. This resource was written for students and practicing physician assistants. It provides information about laboratory tests, assessments, x-rays, emergency care, drug hazards and much more. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [R697.P45 P487 2000]

Drug information handbook for physician assistants. - Hudson, [Ohio]: Lexi-Comp, 2000. Organized similar to a dictionary, this resource provides information about U.S. and Canadian drugs. It includes a section on individual drugs, an introduction, multiple appendices and a pharmacologic index. [RM301.12.D78 2000]

The physician assistant surgical handbook. - Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders, 1998. This resource gives an overview of commonly seen disorders in the surgical field. It discusses anesthesia, organ transplants, pre- and post-operative considerations as well as how-to instructions for commonly performed procedures. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RD37.L33 1998]

The physician assistant emergency medicine handbook. - Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders Co., 1997. Designed specifically for physician assistants working in the emergency room, this resource covers body systems, disease pathologies, symptoms, risks and treatment recommendations. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RC86.8.S25 1997]


Journals


JAAPA: official journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. - This is a peer-reviewed clinical journal. Its issues cover the education and advancement of physician assistants by publishing research about clinical, health policy, and professional issues that affect the field. [PER R697.P45 A44]

Clinician reviews. - This journal provides current information about the newest advances in health care and how it applies to clinical practice. Issues contain peer-reviewed articles and cover the main areas of medicine and surgery. [PER R11.C55]

The Internet journal of academic physician assistants. - This is a peer-reviewed journal that is published online. Issues contain reviews of articles, original papers, case reports, and multimedia materials. [electronic resource]

Physician assistant: the official journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. - Discontinued in 2003, this journal was replaced by JAAPA. Issues cover the continuing education of physician assistants as well as research in the field. [PER R697.P45 H43]


Physician Assistant Electronic Resources


Databases


CINAHL Plus with Full Text- indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition- "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)- indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

The Cochrane Library- "is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care."

Journals@Ovid- provides citations, abstracts, and references to articles from nursing and other medical journals, and some full text.

PsycINFO- "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology [and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)- "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science."


Websites


World Health Organization- This site provides health information for any nation within the United Nations system. The Web site provides information on global health concerns, health research and trends as well as health standards and policies.

PubMed- "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

MEDLINEPlus- is a "goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine."

Physician Assistant History Center- This site documents and preserves the history and achievements of the field of physician assistant. It provides research and information about the evolving field of physician assistant.

ACP Medicine- "bring[s] to its subscribers the assurance of authoritative, evidence-based recommendations presented in readily accessible formats, with the ultimate goal of strengthening medical decision-making for the practicing physician."

National Library of Medicine- This site houses the world's largest medical library. Materials and information about research, biomedicine and health care are available.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-13-2009 11:39