November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Philosophy/Religion



There is only one good, knowledge, and one evil, ignorance. -- Socrates

Philosophy/Religion has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Philosophy BD
Religion BL
Theology BR118
Aesthetics BH39
Ethics BJ1012
Humanism B821
Logic BC71
Mythology BL311
Philosophy and religion BT40


Philosophy/Religion Print Resources


Dictionaries


The new Schaff-Herzog encyclopedia of religious knowledge. - 13 vols. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House, 1952-1957. Although this source is a multi-volume reference tool, it is considered a dictionary. It is known as an authoritative reference work on the subject of the Protestant religion. It has a theological focus, contains biographical sketches of key figures and has an extensive bibliography. [REF BR95.S43]

The Oxford dictionary of world religions. - Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. This resource covers the religions of Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam and more. In addition, it discusses movements, sects, cults, individuals, customs, sacred sites and ethics. This source contains bibliographical references and indexes. [REF BL31.O84 1997]

The Hutchinson dictionary of ideas. - Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1994. This source discusses key terms, such as chaos theory and the nature-nurture controversy; biographies of key individuals; movements; and topics, such as absolutism, behaviorism and existentialism. This source includes indexes. [REF B105.H872 1994]

The Oxford dictionary of philosophy. - Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. This reference tool covers ancient Eastern and Western philosophers and theologians as well as modern influences in the areas of politics, math and science. It discusses the origins, current thoughts, and philosophers associated with the different concepts. This source includes bibliographical references. [REF B41.B53 2005]

The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy. - Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. This reference source discusses Western, European, African, Arabic, Islamic, Japanese, Jewish, Korean and Latin-American philosophy. In addition, it covers new fields of philosophy, such as bioethics. This source includes an index. [REF B41.C35 1999]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of religion. - 15 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2005. This source is illustrated and includes bibliographical references and an index. It contains over 2000 entries which cover topics, such as the various religions, the history of religion, medicine and healing, and the study of religion in non-Western cultures. [REF BL31.E46 2005]

Man, myth, and magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown. - 21 vols. New York: M. Cavendish, 1995. This source covers the world's major and minor faiths, philosophies, legends, mythologies, folklore, literature, symbolism, superstitions and the supernatural from the past to the present. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF BF1407.M34 1995]

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. - 10 vols. This source contains more than 2,000 entries and covers the backbone of Anglo-American philosophy as well as philosophy from India, Africa, and Latin America. It also discusses Chinese, Arabic, and Jewish philosophy. It discusses new and developing schools of philosophy as well as the ancient schools of thought. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF B51.R68 1998]

Encyclopedia of philosophy [electronic resource]. - 10 vols. Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. This is an electronic version of the print resource. This tool contains over 2,000 entries and covers Indian, Japanese, Latin American, Korean, African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies. Topics, such as bioethics, aesthetics, metaphysics, feminist thought, and much more are discussed. In addition, it includes some biographical entries on key philosophical figures. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [electronic resource]


Journals


Theology today. - This journal covers the wide-ranging field of Christian theology and discusses classical and contemporary issues that affect it. It is published by the Princeton Theological Seminary. [PER BR1.T62]

Cross currents. - This journal is published by The Association for Religion and Intellectual Life and the articles are written by a variety of people from different religious traditions. The issues discuss aspects of religion and spirituality. [PER BR1.C6978]

The Philosophical forum. - This journal focuses on innovative and interdisciplinary approaches to contemporary philosophy issues. It is research based and is considered a scholarly resource. [PER B1.P475]

The Monist. - This journal is one of the oldest philosophy journals in the world. It was established in 1888 and publishes thematic issues on specific philosophical topics. [PER B1.M7]

The Philosophical review. - The purpose of this journal is to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy while emphasizing information that is of general interest to academic philosophers. It also publishes book reviews. [PER B1.P5]

Journal of the history of philosophy. - Internationally recognized, this journal focuses on publishing peer-reviewed articles, notes, discussions, and book reviews that center around the history of Western philosophy. [PER B1.A214]


Philosophy/Religion Electronic Resources


Databases


Religion and Philosophy Collection- contains "over 250 full text articles covering subjects such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy."

Eighteenth Century Collections Online- has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law.

Humanities Full Text - cites articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full image articles.

JSTOR- is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

Past Masters- is a searchable full-text Philosophy database.

Philosopher's Index- "is a bibliographic database with ... abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy ... and includes journal articles, [over 550 journals from more than 40 countries ... updated quarterly] books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews."

Project MUSE - "provides online full-text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journal titles."


Websites


Adherents.com- "is a growing collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc."

PhiloSophos.com- This site offers links to academic information, articles, and specialized search engines for university students and distance learners studying philosophy.

Voice of the Shuttle- Hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara, this site offers multiple links to journals, biographies, organizations, conferences, jobs, various philosophy program resources and more.

WWW Philosophy Virtual Library- Located at the University of Bristol, this site is hosted by the Department of Philosophy and the Institute for Learning and Research Technology. It offers access to thousands of reliable Internet sources, each chosen and qualified by academic librarians and subject specialists.

Open Access Theological Journals (through Google Search)- This search engine allows users to search more than 300 religion journals that allow access to full text articles.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-13-2009 12:13