November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Occupational Therapy



I slept and I dreamed that life is all joy, I woke and I saw that life is all service. I served and I saw that service is joy. --Mother Theresa

Occupational Therapy has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Occupational therapy RM735
Art therapy RC489.A7
Music therapy ML3920
Occupational therapy services RM735
Recreational therapy RM736.7
Occupational therapy for children RJ53.O25
Occupational therapy for the aged RC953.8.O22


Occupational Therapy Print Resources


Dictionaries


Quick reference dictionary for occupational therapy. - Thorofare, N.J.: Slack, 2004. This source covers effective communication, critical thinking and problem solving, team building, risk taking and negotiation, and marketing and business. It contains more than 3,600 terms and 60 appendices. It also includes bibliographical references. [RM735.J345 2004]

Melloni's illustrated dictionary of the musculoskeletal system. - New York: Parthenon Pub. Group, 1998. This source was created specifically for physical therapy and occupational therapy students. It contains over 4,000 terms that are concisely defined and the multiple illustrations add to the definitions. [QM100.M44 1998]


Handbooks


Quick reference to occupational therapy. - Austin, Tex.: Pro-Ed, 2003. This source is applicable for students and practicing professionals. It covers commonly found disorders in occupational therapy including post-traumatic stress disorder and sensory modulation disorders. [RM735.3.R42 2003]

Pocketguide to assessment in occupational therapy. - Clifton Park, NY: Delmar Learning, 2003. It includes bibliographical references and is illustrated. It provides an introduction to the topics as well as the causes and origins of the different conditions. Some topics covered are autism, cerebral palsy, dementia, learning disabilities, osteoporosis, and schizophrenia. [RM735.3.P38 2003]

Clinical competencies for occupational therapy. - Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 2001. This source covers the concept of occupational therapy in its entirety and focuses on the skills needed in the areas of practice, physical rehabilitation, pediatrics, psychosocial, and geriatrics. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RM735.3.K54 2001]

Pocketguide to treatment in occupational therapy. - San Diego: Singular Pub. Group, 2000. This source provides information about treatment techniques and strategies for the most common disabilities found in the occupational therapy field. It includes definitions and bibliographical references. [RM735.3.S74 2000]

Occupational adaptation in practice: concepts and cases. - Thorofare, NJ: Slack, 2001. This source discusses the theory of occupational adaptation and provides examples and case studies of how the theory can be implemented in occupation-based, client-centered practices. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [RM735.3.S35 2001]


Journals


American Journal of Occupational Therapy. - This journal is published by the American Occupational Therapy Association and is peer-reviewed. Its emphasis is on research, practice, and health care issues in the area of occupational therapy. [PER RM735.A1A5]

Occupational Therapy in Health Care. - This periodical focuses on practice-related articles and reports, educational strategies and current methods and theories in the occupational therapy field. Issues also provide book and software reviews. [PER RM735.6.O3]

Occupational Therapy in Mental Health. - This journal provides information about the philosophical and conceptual foundations of the practice, shares creative evaluation and treatment techniques, new methodologies arising in related professions, as well as new practice settings and problem areas related to psychiatric occupational therapy. [PER RC487.O26]

OT Practice. - This magazine is published by the American Occupational Therapy Association. It covers hands-on techniques, continuing education, legislative issues, career advice, job opportunities, and professional news relating to the field of occupational therapy. [PER RM735.A1]

OTJR: Occupation, Participation and Health. - This journal is published by the American Occupational Therapy Foundation. It offers original research articles, briefs, book reviews, and commentaries related to occupational therapy. [PER RM735.A1O334]


Occupational Therapy Electronic Resources


Databases


American Occupational Therapy Association- has bibliographic information on occupational therapy and related disciplines. Click on OT Search to start your search.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text- indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition- "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)- indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

The Cochrane Library- "is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care."

Journals@Ovid- provides citations, abstracts, and references to articles from nursing and other medical journals, and some full text.

Science Direct- provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.


Websites


Pubmed- "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

NLM Gateway- "allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)," including MEDLINE and other medical databases.

OTSeeker- Developed by occupational therapists from the University of Queensland and the University of Sydney, this is a database that supplies abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relating to occupational therapy.

Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics (CATS)- Hosted by the University of Western Sydney, this site provides brief summaries of research evidence on the topic of occupational therapy.

MEDLINEPlus- is "goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine."


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-03-2009 10:15