Nursing
Caring is the essence of nursing. ---Jean Watson
Nursing has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Nursing | RT41 |
| Emergency Nursing | RT120.E4 |
| Geriatric Nursing | RC954 |
| Intensive Care Nursing | RT120.I5 |
| Nursing Diagnosis | RT48 |
| Pediatric Nursing | RJ245 |
| Surgical Nursing | RD99.24 |
| Community Health Nursing | RT98 |
Nursing Print Resources
Handbooks
The Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice. - Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2006. This resource covers the nursing process and practices, medical-surgical nursing, maternity and neonatal nursing, pediatric nursing, and psychiatric nursing. [RT51.B78]
Dictionaries
Blackwell's Nursing Dictionary. - Oxford: Blackwell, 2005. This resource contains information on nursing definitions, professional organizations, continuing professional development, the Code of Professional Practice, and steps for understanding and undertaking clinical research in practice. [REF RT21.B53]
Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health. - Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders, 1997. This reference resource provides a comprehensive vocabulary basis for the health sciences. It provides key nursing terms and taxonomies. [REF R121.M65]
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary. - St. Louis: Mosby, 2002, [i.e. 2001]. This resource contains illustrations, appendices, and comprehensive definitions. Organized alphabetically this dictionary is easy to use and contains detailed drug entries. [REF R121.M89]
Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing. - Edinburgh; New York: Churchill Livingstone, 2002. This reference resource gives detailed information on a variety of topics pertaining to health care professionals. It also contains appendices. [RT21.C487]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research. - New York: Springer Pub., 2006. An authoritative source of information that provides readers with key terms and concepts in the field of nursing and nursing research. [REF RT81.5.E53]
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health. - 5 vols. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. Useful for students and professionals, this reference work covers the areas of diseases, tests and procedures, equipment, body systems, techniques, health issues, as well as nursing and the allied health professions. [REF RT21.G353]
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. - 5 vols. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. This reference resource provides authoritative, detailed information on topics relating to medicine. It contains illustrations and is easy to understand. [REF RC41.G35]
The American Medical Association Encyclopedia of Medicine. - New York, NY: Random House, 1989. This reference resource is user friendly and covers the areas of drugs, testing, diseases, disorders, and surgical procedures. It contains illustrations and an index. [REF RC81.A2.A52]
Journals
Nursing. - This periodical gives readers practical, hands-on nursing information. Topics cover diseases, drugs, nursing care strategies as well as legal and ethical issues and much more. [RT1.N76]
RN. - This periodical is tailored to nurses and provides readers with information on health, diet, stress management, and family life. It offers answers to tough nursing challenges and contains continuing education information. [RT1.R2]
Journal of nursing education. - This publication allows nursing educators of all types and levels the opportunity to read original articles and learn about new ideas. It promotes research and learning. [RT1.J65]
American Journal of Nursing. - This publication is a peer-reviewed journal and provides authoritative information and research in addition to discussing current professional issues in the field of nursing. [RT1.A5]
JONA'S Healthcare law, ethics, and regulation. - This journal keeps readers current on healthcare regulations and laws. It discusses trends in the field of healthcare as well as ethical issues. [RT89.J68]
Nursing Electronic Resources
Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - This database indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. It is also updated on a daily basis.
Journal@Ovid - This database provides citations, abstracts, and references to articles from nursing and other medical journals, and some full text.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) - This database indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.
Science Direct - This database provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.
Websites
MEDLINEPlus - This Website is a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed - This Website is a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - A Website maintained by the government that provides readers with credible and reliable health information.
NurseSearch - A resource that searches the American Nurses Association's NursingWorld web site.
Nursing Websites - Hosted by the University at Buffalo Health Sciences Library this site features various helpful links for nursing students including research and professional organizations.