Library Science
The only true equalisers in the world are books; the only treasure-house open to all comers is a library; the only wealth which will not decay is knowledge; the only jewel which you can carry beyond the grave is wisdom. -- J. A. Langford
Library Science has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Library Science | Z665 |
| Academic libraries | Z675 |
| Bibliography | Z1002 |
| School libraries | Z675 |
| Information retrieval | Z699 |
| Special libraries | Z675 |
| Information literacy | ZA3075 |
| Acquisitions (Libraries) | Z689 |
| Cataloging | Z693 |
| Public libraries | Z675 |
Library Science Print Resources
Dictionaries
The Librarian's Thesaurus. - Chicago: American Library Association, 1990. This reference work covers general concepts, procedures and processes, and technology associated with the field of library science. Terms are also indexed for additional access. [Z1006.S595]
The ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science.. - Chicago: American Library Association, 1983. This reference resource includes terms relating to the provision of access to recorded information. The terms come from the fields of library and information science, printing and publishing, computer science, telecommunications, archives administration, and more. [REF Z1006.A48]
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary: 9,000 Terms Used in Information Management, Library Science, Publishing, the Book Trades, and Archive Management. - Aldershot, Hants., England: Gower; Brookfield, Vt., USA: Ashgate Pub. Co., 1995. This reference book gives definitions of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms which relate to libraries, books, information management, and information technology. [REF Z1006.H32]
The Bookman's Glossary. - New York: Bowker, 1983. This reference work contains definitions of nearly 1800 terms used in the areas of book publishing (including electronic publishing), book manufacturing, bookselling, book trading, and librarianship. [REF Z118.B75]
Dictionary for School Library Media Specialists: A Practical and Comprehensive Guide. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2001. Created to provide a source of definitions for the language of a school library specialist, it covers the basic terms, acronyms, and phrases needed for the daily operation of a K-12 school library media center. [REF Z1006.M43]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. - 4 vols. New York, N.Y.: Marcel Dekker, Inc., 1968. The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science provides information about the dissemination, acquisition, and development of print and online media. Articles cover such areas as program planning in the digital era, recruitment, information management, intellectual property, and database selection and design, and much more. [REF Z1006.E57]
Journals
Library Journal. - This periodical covers aspects such as technology, management, policy, and other professional concerns. Its review sections evaluate almost 7000 books yearly as well as hundreds of audio books, videos, databases, web sites, and systems that libraries purchase. [Z671.L7]
Library Quarterly. - This periodical provides scholarly research and reviews in all areas of librarianship, such as historical, sociological, cultural, evaluative, statistical, bibliographical, managerial, and educational. [Z671.L713]
Library Resources & Technical Services. - This periodical is a peer-reviewed journal that covers the following areas relating to libraries: collections, scholarly communication, preservation, acquisitions, continuing resources, and cataloging. In addition, it publishes research papers, editorials, book reviews, letters to the editor, and the annual report of the president of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services. [Z671.L7154]
Library Trends. - This periodical provides articles that explore critical trends in the field of professional librarianship and also includes practical applications, in-depth analyses, and literature reviews. [Z671.L6173]
Library Science Electronic Resources
Databases
Books in Print.com- This database provides title, author, ISBN number, and publisher information for millions of books.
Emerald- This database provides full text articles from hundreds of journals including the field of librarianship.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts- This database is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. It covers the areas of librarianship, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text- This database indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. It also includes full text/full image articles.
WorldCat- This database has over 96,000,000 records of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including citations to books, journal articles, internet sites, and much more.
Websites
Internet Public Library (IPL)- The Internet Public Library is a global information community that provides learning and volunteer opportunities for library and information science students and professionals. It offers readers the ability to collaborate participate in research as well as providing access to authoritative information to the public and professionals alike.
Library of Congress- The Library of Congress Web site contains links that provide news feeds, tools, services, and resources for specifically for librarians, archivists, and information professionals.
Library of Texas- This Web site searches catalogs of dozens of public and academic libraries, and dozens of commercial databases, all at the same time.
ODLIS Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science- This Web site provides definitions of library and information science terms that librarians and other information professionals are expected to know during the course of their studies or professional careers.
Librarians' Internet Index (LII)- This Web site consists of over 20,000 records representing some of the best online sources.