Latin American Studies
Latin American Studies has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Latin American Studies, there are many different Call Numbers for materials listed under various Subject Headings.
| Latin America | F1201-2000 |
| Latin America Antiquities | E59-65 |
| Latin America Bibliography | F1408; Z1601 |
| Latin America Civilization | F1408 |
| Latin America Civilization Periodicals | PC4008 |
| Latin America Democracy | JL966-JN40 |
| Latin America Economic Conditions | HC121-237; HF1480.5-1525 |
| Latin American Foreign Relations United States | F1418 |
| Latin America History | F1409-1410 |
| Latin America Modernism Literature | PQ7081-7087 |
| Latin America Periodicals | F1401; PN6 |
| Latin America Politics and Government | F1410-1418; HN110.5; JL960 |
| Latin America Social Conditions | HC125-599 |
| Latin America United States Foreign Relations | F1414-1418 |
| Latin American Literature | PQ7081-9699 |
| Latin American Literature Periodicals | F1401; NX7; PN6; PQ7081 |
| Latin Americans United States | E184 |
Latin American Studies Print Resources
Dictionaries
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic Americans. New York: Facts on File. 2001. This dictionary provides more than 250 entires profiling Hispanic men and women who have made a lasting impact on American society. Arranged in A-to-Z format, biographies include background on individuals in business, literature, politics, science, health and medicine, arts and entertainment, and relation. [REF E184 .S75 M49 2001]
Dictionary of Latin American Spanish phrases and expressions. New York: Hippocrene Books. 2002. Alphabetically arranged in Spanish, phrases and expressions include both common meaning and literal translation. All regions of Latin America are covered. Each entry also includes corresponding English translations to help understand expressions. Also includes a section of Spanish equivalents to English expressions. [PC4822 .H36 2002]
Historical dictionary of United States-Latin American relations: Historical Dictionary of U.S. Diplomacy, No. 3. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press. 2007. This dictionary provides a broad survey of relations in the general introduction. Outlines of significant events, major crises, the evolution of doctrines and policies and much more. An overview of the history of diplomatic relations between the United States and the nations of Latin America from U.S. independence in the late 18th century to the presents. [REF F1418 .S368 2007]
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: a biographical dictionary of 12,700 persons. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. 2003. Reference source to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists, and architects in Latin America and the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. [REF N6502.4 .S45 2003]
Notable twentieth-century Latin American women: a biographical dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. 2001. This dictionary provides biographical information on Spanish and Portuguese speaking Latin American women. Scholars in Spanish, Portuguese, women's studies and Latin American Studies contributed to the 72 entries. Entries arranged in alphabetical order with a brief further readings list. Also includes 2 appendices -- one arranged by country and other by field of endeavor. [CT3290 .N68 2001]
Encyclopedias
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1992. Contains sections on the physical environment, economy, peoples, history, politics and society, and culture. [REF F1406 .C36 1992].
The Cambridge History of Latin America Literature. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1996. Three volume set that contains information on Discovery and Modernism, 20th Century and Brazilian Literature. [PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996]
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics. Westport, CT: Oryx Press. 2002. Offers historical developments in Puerto Rico and 20 Latin American countries since the early 1800s. Primary focus is on the 20th century. Provides country profiles, detailed histories, demographic information, political, economic and geographic data. Alphabetical listing of people, events, political movements and heads of state. Well illustrated with maps and photographs. [REF F1410 .E56 2002]
Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries. 2000. Alphabetical arrangement of arts and culture in every country in Western Hemisphere (excluding the U.S. and Canada). Covers period from the European conquest to the present. Includes introductory articles on the arts of indigenous peoples. Country surveys chart evolution of artistic traditions including European and native art forms, architecture, fine arts, interior design, textiles and decorative arts. [REF N6502 .E53 2000]
Encyclopedia of Latin American theater. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. 2003. Covers 20 Latin American countries as well as Chicano and Nuyorican theater. Good introduction to Latin American theater for English speaking users. Country sections provide introductory information and an A-Z biographical and topical section. [REF PQ7082 .D7 E63 2003]
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. 2008. Three volume set. Contains hundreds of entries on Latino authors as well as concepts, themes, movements genres, events, and organizations that have shaped Latino literature from colonial times to present. A-Z format with a further readings list, more than 700 entries provide an excellent source for students starting research projects. [REF PS153 .H56 G75 2008]
Handbook of Latin American Studies "The Handbook of Latin American Studies Online Catalog (HLAS Web) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Disciplines covered include anthropology (including archaeology and ethnology), art, economics, electronic resources (beginning in 1995), geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology." [Z1605 .H23 -- Vol. 1-63 Print available]
The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. New York: Oxford University Press. 2005. Four volume set. Contains 900 essays organized into seven general categories: Culture, Language, Hollywood, and the Media; International Relations and Political Economy; Museums, Architecture and Urban Landscapes, Religion and Folklore and Education; Race, Laws and Customs, and Court Cases; The Environment, Science, Technology, and Health and Nutrition; Contemporary Political Participation, Access and Citizenship; and Literature, Poetry, the Arts, and Sports. [REF E184 .S75 O97 2005]
A Reference Guide to Latin American History. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe. 2000. Divided into a general chronology, topical chronology and biographies of 300 notable figures in Latin American History. [REF F1410 .R395 2000]
Journals
Americas -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Organization of American States [F1401 .A57]
Bulletin of Hispanic Studies -- Published by the Institute of Hispanic Studies [PC4008 .B8; also available as an Electronic Source]
Economia -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Brookings Institution Press [Electronic Source]
Estudios sobre las culturas contemporaneas -- Published by Centro Universitario de Investigaciones Sociales, Universidad de Colima [Electronic Source]
Historia Mexicana -- Published by the Colegio de Mexico. [F1201 .H5]
Latin American Antiquity -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Society for American Archaeology [F1219 .L37]
Latin American Literary Review -- Published in Pittsburgh, PA by Carnegie-Mellon University's Department of Modern Languages [PQ7081 .A1 L35]
Latin American Politics and Society -- Published by Miami University [F1401 .J68]
Research Review -- Published by the Latin American Studies Association, Austin, Texas [F1401 .L345]
Latin American Studies Electronic Resources
Databases
Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."
EBSCO en Espanol - provides directions to many different databases in Spanish.
EBSCOhost - provides access to dozens of databases, in many different disciplines, and at different academic levels.
Economia y Negocios - "is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administracian e Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics."
English Spanish Dictionary - (WordReference.com) from Harper Collins also has a Diccionario Ingles Espanol
Fuente Academica - "is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology."
HAPI -- Hispanic American Periodical Index -- "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States."
Historical Abstracts - is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)."
Humanities Full Text - cites articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full image articles.
JSTOR - is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Latin American Women Writers - brings together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including] ... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from the colonial period to the present."
MedicLatina - "is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers...[which] provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals."
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanasticas) - "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin."
World History Collection - offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East...[with] cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals."
Websites
INEGI (Instituto Nacional de Informacion Estadistica y Geografica) Statistical data (census, area studies, science and technology, etc.), geographical information (maps, etc.) for Mexican states.
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center) created by the University of Texas at Austin, LANIC is a comprehensive guide to different countries on subjects such as Economy, Government, Social Sciences and much more.