International Business
International Business has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
International Business Print Resources
Dictionaries
Dictionary of International Business Terms. - Hauppauge, NY: Barron's 2004. 3rd Edition. Approximately 5,000 terms are defined focusing on international finance and marketing, foreign exchange, import/export, trade organizations, etc. Good quick-reference for business professionals and students. [REF HD62.4 .C36 2004]
Dictionary of Trade Policy Terms. - New York: Cambridge University Press 2007. 5th Edition. Guide for 2,500 terms and vocabulary used in trade negotiations. Mainly focused on multilateral trading system with agreements under the World Trade Organization (WTO). Also covers trade-related activities, terms in other international organizations such as World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), emerging trade issues and issues relating to trade in devleoping countries. [HF1373 .G66 2007]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Global Industries. Detroit, MI: Thomson Gale 2003. 3rd Edition. This online encyclopedia presents the historical development and "current status of 115 of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries." [UTPA E-Book]
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management. - London: Thomson Learning 2002. 8 Volumes. Reference work covering all aspects of management studies that is international subject matter. [REF HF1001 .I53 2002]
Journals
See Journals - Subject Headings in Business and Economics for a more comprehensive listing of journals.
Euromoney. - Published by the Euromoney Institutional Investor Inc, London, England. Provides authoritative commentary on capital markets, alternative investments, foreign exchange, and regional markets including Asia, Latin America, etc. Rates competition in the industry through polls and awards. [Electronic Source]
Global Investor. - Published by Euromoney Institutional Investor Inc., London, England. Highly regarded by the global asset management community, focus is on custody and fund administration. Comprehensive coverage includes asset management (corporate strategy, institutional, alternatives, etc.) and asset servicing (clearing and settling, custody and subcustody, etc.). [Electronic Source]
Harvard international review. - Published by Harvard University, Cambridge, MA. Presents a wide variety of scholarly content that is accessible to a wider audience than scholars, and is a good source of analysis. Articles range from applying theory to case studies to analyzing history trends. [Electronic Source]
Inside US-China trade. - Published by China Trade Extra, Arlington, VA. Weekly news coverage of U.S.-China trade policy. Weekly issues available online every Wednesday and offers fully searchable archive of prevous issues. [Electronic Source]
International finance. - Published by Blackwell Publishing Ltd., Oxford, England. "The only journal bridging the gap between theory and policy in macroeconomics and finance...features the best analysis of today's market issues." [Electronic Source]
International trade journal. - Published by Taylor & Francis, Inc., Philadelphia, PA. Scope of journal's articles include globalization and trade, trade and development, transnational corporations and trade, international trade theory, emerging markets and much more. [HF1371 .I57 and Electronic Source]
Journal of international business and economics. - Published by the International Academy of Business and Economics. Publishes papers on "theoretical research/conceptual work or applied research/applications on topics related to research, practice, and teaching in all subject areas of International Business, Economics, E-Business/E-Commerce, and related subjects." [Electronic Source]
Journal of international business strategy. - Published by the International Academy of Business and Economics. Publishes papers relating to "strategy in business research, practice and teaching." [Electronic Source]
Journal of world business: JWB. - Published by Elsevier. Publishing four issues per year, this journal includes articles that broad in scope, but provide insight into both professional and academic issues. Global management issues 0are approached from four areas: leadership, human resource management, strategic management and marketing. [Electronic Source]
World trade. - Published by BNP Media, Troy, MI. This
magazine "is a trusted source of information and analysis for US
executives with a global vision." Published every month, each sector of
world trade is examined, "including transportation, logistics and
supply chain management, technology, finance and trade services, and
domestic and international economic development to assist our readers
in making their business profitable." [Electronic Source]
International Business Electronic Resources
Databases
Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts, and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Business and Company Resource Center - "displays company profiles, including parent/sibling relationships, inudstry rankins, products and brands, current investment ratings, and financial ratios and much more" for over 300,000 companies.
Business Full Text - provides citations and abstracts to hundreds of business periodicals. It also includes full text/full image articles.
Business Knowledge Research - from The Conference Board has full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics.
Business Source Complete - "is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content...[with] indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886...[and] searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals," plus company profiles from Datamonitor.
Commerce Business Daily - (CBDNet) "is the Government's official FREE electronic verions of the Commerce Business Daily (CBD)."
Datastream - contains more than two million financial instruments, securities and indicators for over 175 countries in 60 markets. Holding up to 50 years of history and over 8,000 different fields, it provides access to over one million time series. Datastream is available only at the College of Business and in the Library. Ask at the Reference Desk for more information.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe - has "full text ompany news and financial information...full text federal, and state and international legal materials...full text and abstracted medical health information...general reference sources" and national and international news.
MergentOnline - (formerly FISOnline) has business and financial information from Mergent, Inc. (formerly Moody's) (Mergent currently does not work with older Netscape browsers or with Apple/MacIntosh computers.)
World Data Analyst - from Encyclopaedia Britannica offers statistical portraits of the countries of the world and tools for making comparative charts and tables.
Websites
globalEDGE. - Hosted by Michigan State University's International Business Center, globalEDGE provides "the latest and most comprehesive international business and trade content for a wide range of topics" including access to online print publicstions, country profiles, industry profiles, diagnostic tools, etc.
The Federation of International Trade Associations. - A global trade portal with links to over 8,000 sites related to international trade. Produces biweekly newsletter "Really Useful Sites for International Trade Professionals." Registration is free.
International Business Center. - A not-for-profit organization support global business. Provides international information on culture, finance, reports, resources, trade, etc.
United States Council for International Business. - Provides latest news on international business topics from USCIB, positions statements, annual reports from USCIB and USCIB's Multinationals Study.