November 21, 2009
Document Actions

History



History has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

History D
American History E
Biography CT
Church History BR
Genealogy CS
Historical Sociology HM10-500
Military History D25
Numismatics CJ
World History D15-20


History Print Resources


Dictionaries


Chambers Dictionary of World History. Edinburgh: Chambers, 2005. - This single volume work has over 7,500 A-Z entries, giving unrivalled coverage of people and events throughout world history. The book has no illustrations but does contain a maps.[REF D9.L33 2005]

Dictionary of American History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. - This ten-volume work consists of an alphabetical listing of topics, events, places, and people in the history of the United States. Maps and illustrations are included. [REF E174.D52 2003]

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. New York: Scribner, 1982. - This work presents aspects of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian North, the Byzantine and Slavic East, the Muslim South, and the world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500B.C.E. It explores the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.[Ref D114 .D5 1982]

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: In Association with the British Academy: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2000. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. - Multi-volume set that contains short biographies on a large number of historical figures.[REF DA28.O95 2004]


Encyclopedias


Annals of America. Chicago: Encylopaedia Britannica, inc. 1987. - Covering the history of the United States from 1492 to 1973, this work is organized into ninteen volumes, with each volume covering an era of about fifteen to twenty-five years.[REF E173.A793]

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2000. - This work contains over 800 entries ranging from Lord Acton to Howard Zinn, and from Herodotus to Simon Schama. It also provides some 200 essays treating the development of national, regional and topical historiographies, from the Ancient Near East to the history of sexuality. In addition to the western tradition, the encyclopedia includes substantial assessments of African, Asian and Latin American historians and debates on gender studies.[REF D14.E58 1999]

The Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. - This work presents a comprehensive chronology of more than 20,000 entries that span the millennia of history from prehistoric times to the year 2000.[REF D21.E578]


Chronologies


Asimov's Chronology of the World. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1991. - This work presents a history of the world from the big bang to 1945, told in narrative form and highlighted by a timeline. Spanning the entire duration of the universe(until September 2, 1945), this history sweeps across the whole of human existence, covering vast amounts of material from the spheres of politics, military history, science, mathematics, art, music, literature, and athletics.[REF D11.A76 1991]

Chronology of World History. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, c1999. - This well illustrated chronology surveys world history in four volumes, beginning with the year 3000 BC, as the Neolithic and Bronze Age culture was ending, and concludes at the end of the twentieth century.[REF D11.M39 1999]

The Timetables of History. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991.- This work consists of a chart of what happens year by year (or larger time periods). It lists occurrences, dates, and people, and is effective for finding general facts for a certain year. Spanning millenia of human history, The Timetables of History, gives a sweeping overview of the making of the contemporary world. It maps out at a glance what was happening simultaneously, from the dawn of history to the present day.[REF D11.G78 1991]


Journals


Central European History. - This journal zeroes in on history relating only to the German speaking parts of central Europe. All historical periods and approaches are covered. Germany and surrounding areas are covered in great detail especially during the first and second world wars. This would be a great resource for any student doing a paper relating to this area.[D901.C34]

Civil War History. - This periodical covers the "middle period." It contains both articles and book reviews relating to the target subject area. The writing is suitable for all levels of students and would be useful for anyone studying this period of American history.[E461.C5]

History. - This is the official journal of the Historical Association. It has a wide range of topics although the articles themselves are very focused on a specific topic in history. This is a good general history journal to browse or begin research for a paper.[D1.H815]

History and Theory. - This journal covers ideas, theories, and the philosophy of history. It is geared mostly toward practice and theory of History as a field of study. This journal would be most useful to graduate students and upper level History majors.[D1.H8173]


History Electronic Resources


Databases


America: History and Life - This database is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts - As an index with abstracts this resource covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

JSTOR - This database has full images of back issues of scholarly journals in many subjects, including history, which is represented in JSTOR by 97 journals.

World History Collection - Is a database that offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East with cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals.


Websites


Best of History Websites - This resource has links to both American and World History websites from all periods. It also contains information on web resources for creating history lesson plans and activities. Websites are evaluated using the general guidelines of the Oregon Public Education Network.

History World - A world history website set up like an encyclopedia. It includes full text articles and illustrations. Timelines and speicalist articles are also presented by the website.

Library of Congress - This is a great web resource for history. It has a fully accessible digital collection including pictures, books, and newspapers. All of them dealing with American History. It includes World History resources as well but from an American perspective.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-03-2009 09:42