November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Health Education/Kinesiology



Movement is a medicine for creating change in a person's physical, emotional, and mental states. --Carol Welch

Health Education/Kinesiology has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Health education RA440
Kinesiology QP303
Human mechanics QP303
Biomechanics QP303
Physical education and training GV361
Health promotion RA440
Sports sciences GV558
Physical fitness RA781
Movement education GV452
Physiology QP34.5


Health Education/Kinesiology Print Resources


Dictionaries


Dictionary of the sport and exercise sciences. - Champaign, Ill.: Human Kinetics Books, 1991. This resource is meant for professionals and students involved in the fields of exercise and sport sciences, such as biomechanics, exercise physiology and sport psychology. It contains cross references and provides brief definitions of terms. Dance, physical education, research, design, statistics, sports medicine and specific sports are not covered. [REF GV558.D53 1991]

Mosby's pocket dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions. - St. Louis, Mo.: Mosby/Elsevier, 2006. Definitions are concise and include medical terms, definitions and pronunciations from the fields of nursing, medicine and other health related professions. It is applicable to both students and professionals. [REF R121.M892 2006]

The new complete medical and health encyclopedia. - 4 vols. Chicago: J.G. Ferguson Pub. Co., 1993. This resource provides readers with information about the human body and how to remain healthy. It covers the body and its functioning areas; the stages of life relating to health care, medicine and treatments for illnesses and diseases; mental and emotional disorders; substance abuse; medical emergencies; voluntary health agencies and more. It includes an index. [REF RC81.N515 1993]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of international sports studies. - 3 vols. London: Routledge, 2006. This reference resource covers all the science, medicine and philosophy of sports studies. Topics are diverse and include sports biomechanics, specific injuries, aggression, cross training, metabolism and much more. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF GV567.E486 2006]

Encyclopedia of sports science. - 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1997. This resource covers not only specific individual sports, their history and basic science concepts but also the physiology of sports, such as the circulatory and respiratory systems, types of injuries and injury prevention. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF GV558.E53 1997]

World of sports science [electronic resource]. - Detroit, Mich.: Thomson Gale, 2007. This source is accessible online and contains 600 entries pertaining to the theory and practice of sports science and exercise physiology, kinesiology and biomechanics. It includes bibliographical references and an index. [electronic resource]

The encyclopedia of exercise, sport, and health. - Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2004. This reference resource contains about 1500 entries covering fitness and training, nutrition, psychology, prevention, injuries, illness and disease, alternative therapies, and diagnosis and treatment. It is useful for students and professionals and includes illustrations, bibliographical references and an index. [REF GV567.B78 2004]


Handbooks


Sports science handbook: the essential guide to kinesiology, sport and exercise science. - Brentwood, Essex: Multi-Science, 2005. This source provides concise definitions of the many scientific and technical terms involved in kinesiology and sports science. It covers many areas, such as biochemistry, biomechanics, functional anatomy, epidemiology, motor behavior, nutrition, psychology, physiology and sociology. It includes bibliographical references. [GV558.J46 2005]


Journals


Journal of applied physiology. - This journal publishes original research in applied physiology, especially research focusing on adaptive and integrative mechanisms. Issues discuss concepts and techniques ranging from the physiological sciences to pharmacological and biochemical sciences. [PER QP1.J72]

Research quarterly for exercise and sport. - This journal offers the newest research available in the art and science of human movement studies. It covers biomechanics, epidemiology, growth and motor development, psychology, history and philosophy as well as sociology/cultural anthropology. [PER GV201.R4]

Medicine and science in sports and exercise. - Issues of this journal cover original investigations, clinical studies and in-depth reviews on current topics affecting sports medicine and exercise science. It is published by the American College of Sports Medicine. [PER RC1200.M44]

Texas Association HPERD journal. - This journal focuses on current issues, teaching methods, legislative issues, teaching tips and curriculum development that affect the areas of health, physical education, recreation and dance. It is written for schools and professionals in Texas. [PER GV201.T3]

Journal of sport & exercise psychology. - This journal publishes research articles by scholars that examine the interactions between psychology, exercise and sport performance, editorials about current issues, abstracts of research on sport and exercise psychology and book reviews. [PER GV706.4.J68]


Health Education/Kinesiology Electronic Resources


Databases


ERIC (from EBSCO)- "contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals."

Health and Wellness Resource Center- searches "2,200 general interest health publications, over 400 health and medical journals," and several other health reference sources.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition- "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis.

Infotrac Health Reference Center-Academic- has a wide range of articles on health and medicine, many of which are full-text.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)- indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

PsycINFO- "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."

Science Direct- provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.


Websites


MEDLINEPlus- is a "goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine."

PubMed- "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

Scholary Sport Sites- This site, hosted by the University of Calgary, is a subject directory that provides links for sports researchers, kinesiology students, sport information specialists, and others interested in this field.

Human Kinetics- This site provides links related to the subjects of sports and fitness. It also includes academic and professional topics.

Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (TAHPERD)- This Texas-based site provides information for professionals and students in the areas of health education, physical education, recreation and dance as well as college and general information.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-23-2009 13:41