November 21, 2009
Document Actions

English



English has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

English Language PE
English Literature PR
American English PE2808
Basic English PE1073
English Drama PR6069
English Essays PR1363
English Fiction PR881
English Poetry PR1195
American Literature PS
American Essays PS682
American Fiction PS645
American Poetry PS586


English Print Resources


English Language Dictionaries


The New Oxford American Dictionary. - Single volume lexicographic reference resource that includes encyclopedic material and notes on grammar.[REF PE1628.N429 2005]

The Oxford Dictionary of Current English. - A volume of words of the common English vernacular including colloquialisms. The book also has an explanation of the language and its use.[REF PE1628.O867 1993]

The Oxford English Dictionary. - A massive multi volume set containing most of the known words in the English language and their etymolgy.[REF PE1625.O87 1989]

Webster's New World College Dictionary. - This single volume has expanded coverage of the rapidly growing lexicon of contemporary English and introduces important innovative lexicographic features.[REF PE1628.W5633 1996]


Encyclopedias

The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature. - This reference resource is a single volume compact guide to all aspects of English literature. It provides information on characters, books, literary movements, etc... dealing with British literature.[REF PR19 .D732 2007]

The Facts on File Companion to the American Novel. - A three volume set of encyclopedias dealing with American literature. This resource dicusses literary forms, books, and authors who are important to the literary tradition of the United States.[REF PS371 .F33 2006]

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature. - This massive encyclopedia is the first to offer a comprehensive introduction to the spectacularly diverse range of ethnic American writers. Included are more than 1100 alphabetically arranged entries by more than 300 scholars. It covers authors, books, and ethinic literary types in the U.S.[REF PS153.M56 G74 2005]

The Oxford Comapnion to American Literature. - This complete single volume work details characters, authors, books, literary movements, etc... in American literature.[REF PS 21.H3 1995

The Oxford Companion to English Literature. - A more complete version of the concise companion. It details characters, authors, books, literary movements, etc... in British literature in great detail.[REF PR19.O94 2000]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature. - This multi-volume set of encyclopedias explores the authors, places, and movements of American literature in great detail. It includes selected works as well as further readings at the end of each article.[REF PS21.E537 2004]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. - This multi-volume set of encyclopedias explores the authors, places, and movements of British literature in great detail. It includes selected works as well as further readings at the end of each article.[REF PR19 .O95 2006]


Journals


College Composition and Communication. - This periodical discusses composition studies in the college setting and looks at English writing from a broad range of humanistic disciplines.[PER PE1001.C6]

Composition Studies. - Produced by the Texas Christian University this periodical covers the increasingly complicated field of English writing. It is a scholarly journal that takes a close look at composition studies in colleges and univerities.[PER PE1.F74]

Contemporary Literature. - Contemporary Literature publishes essays on contemporary writing in English, interviews with established and emerging authors, and reviews of recent critical books in the field. As a forum for discussing issues animating the range of contemporary literary studies, CL features the full diversity of critical practices.[PER PN2.W55]

English Language Notes. - A peer reviewed journal dealing with English literary studies. It covers fields as diverse as theology, fine arts, history, philosophy, and science. Each individual publication explores one literary question or issue.[PER PE1.E53]

English Studies. - This journal looks at both the English language and its relation to literature. Studies and articles in this resource primarily come from outside the United States being based in the Netherlands and having editors from all over Europe. It is scholarly and includes bookreviews.[PER PE1.E55]

Twentieth Century Literature. - A periodical devoted to the history and criticism of twentieth century literature. It is a peer reviewed publication and contains scholarly book reviews.[PER PN2.T8]


Literary Reference Materials


Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. - Multi-volume series with critical comentary on authors from antiquity. It covers the ancient period and the Middle Ages.[REF PN681.5.C57]

Contemporary Author. - Extensive series dealing with modern authors from all the different genres of fiction, poetry, and non-fiction. Articles include criticism, as well as a full list of the authors works to date and a short biographical sketch.[REF PN453.C64]

Contemporary Literary Criticism. - This literary reference series covers still living authors and those that have died after 1999. It critiques works from different genres and a multitude of subjects.[REF PN771.C59]

Dictionary of Literary Biography. - A massive multi volume work discussing different authors in various types of literature and their works. Volumes of the work cover different styles and literary movements. Each individual reference source dicusses authors from one theme.[REF PN451.D5]

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. - This is a valuable resource that has critical commentary on writers of the 1800s. It covers authors from different countries and discusses poetry, novels, short stories, plays as well as non-fiction writings.[REF PN761.N56]

Poetry Criticism. - A set of books that present significant criticism of the world's greatest poets and provides supplementary biographical and bibliographica material to guide the interested reader to a greater understanding of the genre and its creators.[REF PN1110.5.P64]

Short Story Criticism. - This is a reference resource that discusses important fiction and non-fiction short story writers from all over the world. The volumes critically cover the works of these authors from multiple genres. It has an writer index within the different volumes. [REF PN3373.S56]

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. - A reference resource detailing writers who died between 1900 and 1999. It includes critiques of poetry, and fiction as well as non-fiction works. Every fourth books in the series is a discussion of literary topics.[REF PN771.T9]


English Electronic Resources


Databases


ACLS Humanities E-Book - (formerly History E-Book) from ACLS provides electronic books in history "that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are frequently cited in the literature, and are currently not widely available."

JSTOR - is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

MLA Bibliography - "indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore."

ProjectMUSE - provides online full-text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journal titles.


Websites


American Authors - Timelines, literary movements, and links to author full-text, biography, and related sites. Created by an English professor at Washington State University.

American Verse Project - The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Calls for Papers - This website is provided by the Department of English at the University of Pennsylvania as a courtesy to the academic community. It contains announcements of upcoming conference and publication opportunities in literary studies from the CFP e-mail list.

eserver.org - An electronic resource hosted by Iowa State University. It is a growing online community where hundreds of writers, artists, editors and scholars gather to publish works as open archives, available free of charge to readers.

Literary Resources on the Net - Lynch's directory organizes literature-related web sites by time period and genre.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database - An online index to historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror. Compiled by Hal W. Hall for Texas A&M Library.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-24-2009 13:57