November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Engineering-Mechanical



Engineering has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Engineering TA145
Mechanical Engineering TJ145
Heat Engineering TJ260-265
Mechanical Movements TJ170
Engineering Design TJ230
Fracture Mechanics TA409
Production Engineering TS176
Mechatronics TJ163

Mechanical Engineering Print Resources


Mechanical Engineering - Reference Sources


Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation. Published by Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2006.  2nd Edition.   "Covers what is currently useful or is likely to be useful in future medicine. Articles focus on the practice of medicine that is assisted by devices, rather than including, for example, the use of drugs to treat disease." [ UTPA E-Book]

Handbook of Machinery Dynamics. Published by New York: Marcel Dekker, 2001.   "Contains details on the basic theories and particular problems involved in machine dynamics, emphasizing the force and motion analysis of machine components in multiple applications. Reviews machine design for selecting the most appropriate energy transfer mechanisms, numerically illustrates expressions relating to spin speed, and more." [ TJ170 .H365 2001]

Manufacturing Engineering Handbook. Published by New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004. "Includes information on product development and design; manufacturing automation and technologies; heat treating, hot working, and metalforming; metalworking, moldmaking, and machine design; robotics, machine vision and surface preparation; and manufacturing processes design." [ TS176 .M3615 2004]


Mechanical Engineering - Journals


See Journals - Subject Headings in Engineering and Applied Sciences for a more comprehensive listing of journals.

Advanced robotics. Published by VSP International Science Publishers, Netherlands.  "Interdisciplinary journal which integrates publication of all aspects of research on robotics science and engineering with special emphasis being placed on work done in Japan."  [ Electronic Source]

Advances in tribology. Published by Hindawi Publishing Corp., New York, NY.  "Devoted to the publication of original research papers and review articles in all areas of tribology; aims to rapidly disseminate newly-discovered knowledge."  [ Electronic Source]

Applied solar energy.  Published by Allerton Press, Inc.  "The official journal of the Uzbekistan Academy of Sciences, is dedicated to solar energy science and technology.  Topics range from solar radiation, photovoltaics, and solar materials to direct conversion of solar energy into electrical energy.  Also publishes articles exploring other renewable energy sources."  [ Electronic Source]

Applied thermal engineering.  Published by Elsevier, Ltd.  "Publishes high-quality research papers and ancillary features, spanning activities ranging from fundamental research to trouble-shooting in existing plan and equipment.  Provides essential reference material and critical design feedback, with emphasis on thermal technologies as applied in the built environment and the process industries."   [ Electronic Source]

Automotive design & production. Published by Gardner Publications, Inc. Cincinnati, OH.  "Covers the interrelationships between automotive product development & manufacturing processes." [ Electronic Source]

Autonomous robots.  Published by Springer Netherlands.  "This journal publishes articles on the theory and applications of robotic systems capable of some degree of self-sufficiency.  Features papers that include performance data on actual robots in the real world. Coverage includes: control of autonomous robots; real time vision; autonomous wheeled and tracked vehicles; legged vehicles; computational architecture for autonomous systems; distributed architecture for learning, control and adaptation, and more."   [ Electronic Source]

Computational mechanics. Published by Springer Science and Business Media B.V., Netherlands.  "Reports original research of reasonable permanence in those areas of mechanics, mathematics and numerical methods in the practice of modern engineering."  [ Electronic Source]

Control engineering. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY.  "Magazine for engineers in all industries who buy, specify, design & maintain control & instrumentation systems for automated process and manufacturing solutions."  [ Electronic Source]

Discrete event dynamic systems. Published by Springer Netherlands.  "Publishes peer reviewed papers on the modeling and control of discrete event dynamical systems (DEDS).  It presents general theories and methodologies of DEDSs and their applications as well as discusses practical problems from which some generally application DEDS theories or methodologies can be formulated.  Scope of the journal is defined by its emphasis on the modeling of discrete events by dynamic systems, and on problems of their control and optimization.  Coverage includes theory and formal models performance analysis, optimization and optimal control, and applications."    [ Electronic Source]

Engineered systems. Published by BNP Media, Troy, MI.  "Provides information to assist people who specify, install, buy, and maintain commercial, industrial, and institutional hvac/r systems. Contains feature article, issues and events, and literature and product profiles."  [ Electronic Source]

Experimental heat transfer.  Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Provides an important forum for research on measurement techniques, & results of experimental studies in heat & mass transfer as well as related fluid flows."  [ Electronic Source]

Experimental thermal and fluid science. Published by Elsevier Inc. "Provides a forum for research emphasizing experimental work that enhances basic understanding of heat transfer, thermodynamics and fluid mechanics and their applications.  Also covers research results in related fields including combined heat and mass transfer, micro and nanoscale systems, multiphase flow, combustion, radiative transfer and more."    [ Electronic Source]

Experiments in fluids. Published by Springer Berlin/Heidelberg.  "Examines the advancement, extension, and improvement of new techniques of flow measurement.  Also publishes contributions that employ existing experimental techniques to gain an understanding of the underlying flow physics in the areas of turbulence, aerodynamics, hydrodynamics, convective heat transfer, combustion, turbomachiner, multi-phase flows and chemical, biological and geological flows." [ Electronic Source]

Fluid dynamics research. Published by the Japan Society of Fluid Mechanics, Inc. and Elsevier B.V.  "Journal's scope includes theoretical, numerical and experimental studies that contribute to the fundamental understanding and/or application of fluid phenomena."  [ Electronic Source]

IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation. Published by IEEE.  Conference proceedings from the International Conference on Robotics and Automation. [ Electronic Source]

IEEE robotics & automation magazine. Published by the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society.  "This magazine deals with prototyping, demonstration and evaluation, and commercialization of robotic and automation technology and systems. It serves as the major forum for the application of theory to real-world systems, with an emphasis on implementation."  [ Electronic Source]

Intelligent service robotics. Published by Springer Berlin/Heidelberg.  "Foster the dissemination of new discoveries and novel technologies that advance the ability of robotics to assist and support humans.  Addresses a broad spectrum of topics ranging from intelligent robots acting as a servant, secretary, or companion to intelligent robotic functions such as embedded robotics, ambient intelligence, or intelligent space."   [ Electronic Source]

International journal of heat and fluid flow.  Published by Elsevier Inc.  "Publishes on experimental, computational, and physical aspects of convective heat transfer and fluid dynamics relevant to engineering or the environment, including multiphase and microscale flows."  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of mechanical engineering education. Published by Manchester University Press, UK.  "Discusses the practice & requirements of the academic & industrial training of mechanical engineers, & what subjects can & should be included in mechanical engineering courses."  [ Electronic Source]

International journal of multiphase flow. Published by Elsevier Ltd.  "Publishes theoretical and experimental investigations of multiphase flow which are of relevance and permanent interest including topics such as multiphase flow and heat transfer, cavitation phenomena, slurries, suspensions, particle-flow interactions, bubble and drop dynamics, fluidization, etc." [ Electronic Source]

International journal of numerical methods for heat & fluid flow. Published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.  "Provides applied mathematicians, engineers and scientists engaged in computer-aided design and research in computational heat transfer and fluid dynamics with timely and accessible information on the development, refinement and application of computer based numerical techniques for solving problems in heat and fluid flow. Covers biomedical engineering; combustion process and firespread; conduction, free and forced convection; contribution to numerical modeling in CAD, CAE and CAM; heat transfer in composites, ceramics, plastics, etc.; innovative algorithm developments and application to heat and fluid flow, etc."   [ Electronic Source]

Journal of applied mechanics. Published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, New York.  "Serves as vehicle for the communication of original research results of permanent interest in all branches of mechanics.  Covers aerodynamics, aerooelasticity; boundary layers computational mechanics; constitutive modeling of materials dynamics; elasticity; flow and fracture; heat transfer" and more." [TA1. J6]

Journal of engineering mechanics. Published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, Reston, VA.  "Research presented on solid, structural and fluid mechanics. Behavior of structures under impulsive loading such as blast, earthquake and periodic forces is also examined."  [ Electronic Source]

Journal of intelligent & fuzzy systems. Published by IOS Press, Netherlands.  "Focuses on current and potential applications, case studies, and education in intelligent or fuzzy systems for engineering and related technical fields."   [ Electronic Source]

Journal of intelligent & robotic systems. Published by Springer Netherlands.  "This journal bridges the gap between theory and practice in all areas of intelligent systems and robotics, publishing original peer reviewed contributions from initial concept and theory to prototyping to final product development and commercialization.  Theory focuses on intelligent systems engineering, distributed intelligence systems, multi-robot systems, aerial vehicles, mobile robot platforms, underwater robots, etc.  Papers relating to applications focus on autonomous systems, industrial robotic systems, multi-robot systems, aerial vehicles, mobile robot platforms, underwater robots, sensors, etc."    [ Electronic Source]

Journal of mechanical science and technology.  Published by the Korean Society of Mechanical Engineers.  "This journal disseminates original work that contributes to the understanding of the main and related disciplines of mechanical engineering, either empirical or theoretical covering topics such as materials and design engineering, production engineering and fusion technology, dynamics, vibration and control, thermal engineering and fluids engineering."  [ Electronic Source]

Machine design.  Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH.  "Articles, special reports, commentary, news trends & tech briefs for research, development & design engineers engaged in the design & manufacture of machinery, electrical/electronic equipment & mechanical equipment."  [ Electronic Source]

Mechanical engineering. Published by American Society of Mechanical Engineers, New York, NY.  "Feature articles, commentary, product reviews, legislation, computing and software news, ASME codes and standards and news of note published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers."  [ Electronic Source]

Mechanical systems and signal processing. Published by Elsevier Ltd. "This journal publishes peer reviewed articles that reflect the activities and interests of workers in academic and industrial research, and includes theoretical and experimental aspects.  Topics include vibration monitoring and control; diagnostics of mechanical components, machines, systems, processes; diagnostic and monitoring based risk modeling; modal analysis (theoretical and experimental); structural health monitoring and much more." [ Electronic Source]

Numerical heat transfer. Part A, Applications.  Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Addresses problems in heat transfer, mass transfer & fluid flow." [ Electronic Source]

Numerical heat transfer. Part B, Fundamentals. Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK.  "Addresses all aspects of the methodology for the numerical solution of problems in heat & mass transfer, as well as fluid flow."  [ Electronic Source]

Professional Engineering.  Published by Professional Engineering Publishing, UK.  "Addresses the news & technology that impacts on the business & careers of professional engineers in all sectors of engineering & manufacturing."  [ Electronic Source]

Renewable & sustainable energy reviews. Published by Elsevier Ltd.  "Publishes current advances in the field of renewable and sustainable energy. Coverage includes resources such as bioenergy, geothermal, hydrogen, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind; applications and services such as buildings, industry and electricity, transport; and policy issues including economic aspects, environmental impact, emissions, political aspects, energy planning, social aspects and trends (past, present, future)."  [ Electronic Source]

Renewable energy. Published by Elsevier Ltd.  "The official journal of the World Renewable Energy Network, disseminating information on various topics and technology of renewable energy intent on assisting researcher, economist, manufacturers, world agencies etc. keep abreast of new developments. Scope of the journal includes photovoltaic technology conversion, solar thermal applications, biomass conversion, wind energy technology climatology and meteorology (geothermal, wave and tide, ocean thermal energies, etc.) and much more."  [ Electronic Source]

Robotics and autonomous systems. Published by Elsevier B.V. "Publishes fundamental developments in the field of robotics, with special emphasis on autonomous systems.  Aims is to extend the state of the art in both symbolic and sensory based robot control and learning in the context of autonomous systems.  Publishes articles on theoretical, computational and experimental aspects of autonomous systems, or modules of such systems.  Topics covered include symbol mediated robot behavior control; sensory mediated robot behavior control; active sensory processing and control; industrial applications of autonomous systems; micro electromechanical robots; robot control architectures; robot planning, adaptation and learning and much more."  [ Electronic Source]

Solar energy.  Published by Elsevier Ltd.  "The official journal of the International Solar Energy Society, published articles exclusive to science and technology of solar energy applications.  Covers all aspects of solar energy research, development, application measurement or policy."  [ Electronic Source]

Solar energy materials and solar cells.  Published by Elsevier B.V.  "This journal disseminates research results on materials science and technology related to photovoltaic, photothermal and photoelectrochemical solar energy conversion.  Materials science is taken in the broadest possible sense and encompasses physics, chemistry, optics, materials fabrication and analysis for all types of materials." [ Electronic Source]

Top of Page


Mechanical Engineering Electronic Resources


Mechanical Engineering - Databases


Academic Search Complete has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery includes magazines and journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.  Only the journal articles are available in full text; click on Digital Library to search for them.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full text/full image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied science publications.  

arXiv.org archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.

Astrophysics Data System from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics,and Los Alamos preprints.

Computer Source provides the "latest information on trends in high technology...with abstracts and indexing for over 150 titles."

DISCovering Science provides comprehensive coverage to a number of scientific disciplines, but not at an advanced level.

EEVL Xtra cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc., in engineering, mathematics and computing.  It includes some full text articles.

Ei Engineering Village includes Compendex Web and a variety of other engineering sources/information.

Emerald provides full text articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice, economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship, management, marketing, and more.

Energy Citations Databases "contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC)."

GreenFile: This new database covers alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global warming, natural resources, pollution, recycling, and beyond.  Anyone with an interest in environmental issues and who needs resource material regarding these subjects will find this database to be an invaluable tool.

HCI Bibliography "provides a bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer I interaction."

HighWire Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science on Earth...assisting in the online publication of...[hundreds of thousands of] free full-text articles."

IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the field.

IngentaConnect has millions of citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals.

Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals."

MTS Lab Training Library provides samples of interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.

Nature Physics "publishes [full text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied...[including] core physics disciplines, but...also...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics."

NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics."

Science & Technology Collection "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering..aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science."

Science Direct provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals.  Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.

General Science Full Text provides citations and abstracts to British and American science magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image articles.

SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.  to use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to create your own user name and password.  This account will give you access to the SciFinder database.

SpringerLINK provides abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer.  The articles/journals are in the fields of computer science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life and physical sciences.  Click on search to begin your search for articles.

Web of Knowledge contains three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to present.  We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so that others may use Web of Science.  

Wiley InterScience provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley publishers.  Disciplines include business, education, law, and psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering.  Click on Journal Search to look for articles.

Top of Page

Mechanical Engineering - Websites


American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)  

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 

American Solar Energy Society (ASES)  

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 

International Society of Automation (ISA)

Materials Research Society (MRS) 

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)  

Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI - Department of Energy)

SAE International  

Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM)  

Society for the Advancement of Material and Processing Engineering (SAMPE) 

Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE) 

SPIE - The International Society for Optics and Photonics Engineering  (SPIE) 

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) 

CFD online  "CFD Online is an online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics. Services include several discussion forums, a jobs database, a free CFD reference in the form of a CFD-Wiki, a news and announcement forum, a books guide, an events calendar, and a comprehensive annotated link section with pointers to CFD resources around the world. CFD Online's goal is to offer high-quality web services to the CFD community."

eFluids.com "eFluids is a specialty web portal designed to serve as a one-stop web information resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics. It is designed to become the first step on the path to solving problems in flow engineering and fluid mechanics research and development for the global fluid dynamics community by providing engineers, industry professionals, researchers, educators, and students with a consolidated, intelligently selected and organized database linking all aspects of the fluid flow specialization."

eiNet.net    "eiNET is the original searchable Internet directory whose mission is to provide contextually relevant information by integrating state-of-the-art technology with the human touch."

MEMSnet  Information resources for the MEMS and nanotechnology development community hosted by MEMS and Nanotechnology Exchange.  


Top of page
by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-27-2009 12:01