Engineering - Electrical
Engineering has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Engineering | TA145 |
| Electrical Engineering | TK145-146 |
| Electro Acoustics | TK5900; QC225-228 |
| Electronics | TK7816 |
| Electronic Circuits | TK7860 |
| Microelectronics | TK7800 |
| Solid State Electronics | TK7860-7871 |
| Nanoelectronics | TK7870-7880 |
| Magnetism | QC753 |
| Software Engineering | QA76 |
Electrical Engineering Print Resources
Electrical Engineering - Reference Sources
The Electrical Engineering Handbook. Published by Taylor & Francis, Boca Raton, Florida, 2006. 3rd edition. Six volumes outlining: volume 1 - circuits, signals, and speech and image process; volume 2 - broadcasting and optical communication technology; volume 3 - electronics, power electronics, optoelectronics, microwaves, electromagnetics, and radar; volume 4 - computers, software engineering, and digital devices; volume 5 - sensors, nanoscience, biomedical engineering and instruments; and volume 6 - systems, controls, embedded systems, energy, and machines. [ REF TK145 .E354 2006]
Encyclopedia of Software Engineering. Published by New York: John Wiley, 2002. Two volumes. "The encyclopedia has some 165 alphabetically arranged major articles, each written by an international authority, and includes topics such as Acquisition Management, CASE, Data Rights, Design of Distributed Systems, Hypertext, Privacy and Security, Project Management, Software Reliability Theory, UNIX, and Viruses. Also more than 100 brief definitions of terms from IEEE's Standard Glossary of Software Engineering Terminology. Biographical sketches of prominent individuals in the software engineering field are also included with bibliographies of their major publications. Excellent source that brings together software engineering terms and concepts that now appear in many sources." [ REF QA76 .758 .E53 2002]
The Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics. Published by McGraw-Hill, New York. 2001. 8th Edition. New definitions have been added in the fields of wireless technology, robotics, and artificial intelligence with many cross references included that provide recommended additional information or allow comparison with related terms. Appendix A contains standards symbols used in electrical and electronic diagrams; Appendix B contained data tables (such as conversion between electrical systems, Greek alphabet, mathematical functions and operations, prefix multipliers, and resistor color code). [ TK7804 .G497 2001 and UTPA E-Book]
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering. McGraw-Hill, New York. 2003. 2nd Edition. "A compendium of more than 18,000 terms that are central to the various branches of engineering and related fields of science. Focuses on building construction, chemical engineering, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, electricity and electronics, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, systems engineering, and thermodynamics. All definitions are drawn from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition (2003)." [ UTPA E-Book]
The Mechatronics Handbook. Published by Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2008. Includes information on mechatronic systems, sensors, and actuators - fundamentals and modeling; and mechatronic system control, logic, and data acquisition. [ TJ163.12 .M43 2008]
National Electric Code. Published by Quincy, MA: National Fire Protection Association, 2007. 2008 edition. "Presents the latest electrical regulation code that is applicable for electrical wiring and equipment installation for all buildings, covering emergency situations, owner liability, and procedures for ensuring public and workplace safety. [ TK260 .N45 2007]
Newnes Electrical Pocket Book. Published by Newnes, Oxford, England, 2003. 23rd Edition. "Ideal daily reference source for electrical engineers, electricians and students. First published in 1932 this classic has been fully updated in line with the latest technical developments, regulations and industry best practice. Provides both in-depth knowledge and a broad overview of the field and is an invaluable tool of the trade. Contains essential information and data on the practice and principles of electrical engineering and installation." [ TK151 .R44 2003]
The VLSI Handbook. Published by Boca Raton, FL: CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2007. "This handbook remains the most up-to-date, reliable, and comprehensive source for real answers to practical problems, featuring several heavily revised and completely rewritten chapters, new chapters on such topics as CMOS fabrication and high-speed circuit design, heavily revised sections on testing of digital systems and design languages, and two entirely new sections on low-power electronics and VLSI signal processing. An updated compendium of references and other resources - such as software, databases, standards, and seminars - points toward more in-depth information. [ TK7874.75 .V573 2007]
Electrical Engineering - Journals
See Journals - Subject Headings in Engineering and Applied Sciences for a more comprehensive listing of journals.
Active and passive electronic components. Published by Hindawi Publishing Corporation, New York, NY. "Devoted to the science and technology of all types of electronic components." [ Electronic Source]
ASMC proceedings. Published proceedings of the Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing Conferences. [ Electronic Source]
Broadcast engineering. Published by Penton Media, Inc., New York: NY. "Addresses the application of broadcast technology & equipment for corporate, engineering & operations management at radio and TV stations, networks, teleproduction and recording studios, & cable television facilities." [ Electronic Source]
Circuits assembly. Published by UP Media, Atlanta, GA. "Serves the surface mount, mixed technology and through hole assembly markets and includes information of interest to assemblers of printed circuits and hybrid circuits." [ Electronic Source]
Computers and electrical engineering. Published by Elsevier, Ltd. "Provides rapid publication of topical research into the integration of computer technology and computational techniques with electrical and electronic systems...in areas like signal processing, image processing, high-performance computing, parallel processing, communication and the internet." [ Electronic Source]
Current opinion in solid state & materials science. Published by Elsevier, Ltd. "Provides the latest research and advances in materials science...give the materials scientist the opportunity to keep informed of all the current developments in their own and related, areas of research, ensuring the cross fertilization of ideas across an increasingly interdisciplinary field." [ Electronic Source]
Designs, codes, and cryptography. Published by Springer, Netherlands. "Provides a forum for high quality papers of both a theoretical and a practical nature which bridges activity in design theory, coding theory and cryptography, encouraging interaction between them. Emphasizes algebraic and geometric aspects of design theory, coding theory and cryptography." [ Electronic Source]
Electromagnetics. Published by Taylor & Francis, Ltd., UK. "Topics covered include electromagnetic theory, high frequency techniques, extra low frequency & very low frequency, antennas & randomes, arrays, numerical techniques & scattering, & diffractions." [ Electronic Source]
Electronic design. Published by Penton Publishing, Cleveland, OH. "Articles, special reports, interviews, design applications, product innovations, technology advances, product reviews and news of note for engineers and engineering managers worldwide." [ Electronic Source]
Electronic news. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY. "Computer-related information, information services on information technology, and market trends published weekly for industry leaders." [ Electronic Source]
Electronics weekly. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY. "Contains technical features, news analysis, product news and industry trends." [ Electronic Source]
Engineering & technology. Published by Institution of Technology and Engineering, UK. "Combines features, analysis, news, innovation announcements with individually tailored career advice and Engineering and Technology Careers." [ Electronic Source]
International journal of electrical engineering education. Published by Manchester University Press, UK. "Provides an international forum for educators at the university & technical college levels covering trends in curriculum development; includes technical articles." [ Electronic Source]
International journal of electronics. Published by Taylor and Francis, UK. "Covers experimental & theoretical aspects of electronics." [ Electronic Source]
Nanotechnology. Published by the Institute of Physics. "Publishes papers at the forefront of nanoscale science and technology...especially those of an interdisciplinary nature. Encompasses the understanding of the fundamental physics, chemistry, biology and technology of nanometer-scale objects and how such objects can be used in the areas of computation, sensors, nanostructured materials and nano-biotechnology." [ Electronic Source]
Power engineering. Published by Penn Well Publishing Co., Tulsa, OK. "An engineering magazine in the fields of power generation, construction, retrofit, and maintenance." [ Electronic Source]
Quantum electronics. Published by the Institute of Physics. Publishes articles on lasers, active media, interaction of laser radiation with matter, laser plasma, nonlinear optical phenomena, nanotechnologies, quantum electronic devices, laser applications in technology and metrology, biology and medicine and more. [ Electronic Source]
Semiconductor international. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY. "The global semiconductor industry's technical authority that is written for engineers & management who design, manufacture & test semiconductors & integrated circuits." [ Electronic Source]
Solid state technology. Published by Penn Well Publishing Co., Tulsa, OK. "News and information on the latest trends in worldwide semiconductor production. Sections on micromachining, chemical/mechanical polishing, packaging, metrology, flat panel displays and more." [ Electronic Source]
Surface engineering and applied electrochemistry. Published by Allerton Press, Inc. "The official journal of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova...publishing theoretical and applied articles dealing with a broad spectrum of topics in surface engineering and the application of electrochemistry in industrial processing." [ Electronic Source]
Test & measurement world. Published by Reed Business Information, New York, NY. "The magazine that covers test, measurement, inspection & quality control in the electronics industry for engineers & managers worldwide." [ Electronic Source]
Thin solid films. Published by Elsevier B.V. "An international journal which serves scientists and engineering working in the fields of thin-film synthesis, characterization, and applications." [ Electronic Source.]
Electrical Engineering Electronic Resources
Electrical Engineering - Databases
Academic Search Complete has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery includes magazines and journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. Only the journal articles are available in full text; click on Digital Library to search for them.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full text/full image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied science publications.
arXiv.org archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
Astrophysics Data System from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics,and Los Alamos preprints.
Computer Source provides the "latest information on trends in high technology...with abstracts and indexing for over 150 titles."
DISCovering Science provides comprehensive coverage to a number of scientific disciplines, but not at an advanced level.
EEVL Xtra cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc., in engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text articles.
Ei Engineering Village includes Compendex Web and a variety of other engineering sources/information.
Emerald provides full text articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice, economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship, management, marketing, and more.
Energy Citations Databases "contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC)."
GreenFile: This new database covers alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global warming, natural resources, pollution, recycling, and beyond. Anyone with an interest in environmental issues and who needs resource material regarding these subjects will find this database to be an invaluable tool.
HCI Bibliography "provides a bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer I interaction."
HighWire Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science on Earth...assisting in the online publication of...[hundreds of thousands of] free full-text articles."
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the field.
IngentaConnect has millions of citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals."
MTS Lab Training Library provides samples of interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.
Nature Physics "publishes [full text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied...[including] core physics disciplines, but...also...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics."
NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics."
Science & Technology Collection "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering..aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science."
Science Direct provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.
General Science Full Text provides citations and abstracts to British and American science magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image articles.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. to use this tool: you must first REGISTER HERE to create your own user name and password. This account will give you access to the SciFinder database.
SpringerLINK provides abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer. The articles/journals are in the fields of computer science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life and physical sciences. Click on search to begin your search for articles.
Web of Knowledge contains three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to present. We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so that others may use Web of Science.
Wiley InterScience provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley publishers. Disciplines include business, education, law, and psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering. Click on Journal Search to look for articles.
Top of PageElectrical Engineering - Websites
Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS)
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES)
Audio Engineering Society (AES)
Department of Energy (DOE)
Electrochemical Society (ECS)
Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA)
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE)
Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
International Liquid Crystal Society (ILCS)
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Society of Automation (ISA)
International Solar Energy Society (ISES)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
North American Fuzzy Information Processing Society (NAFIPS)
Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI - Department of Energy)
Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Society (RSPS)
SPIE International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE)
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Control Engineering Virtual Library The Control Engineering Virtual Library is hosted by the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge and contains many useful links.
Optics Society of America Contains useful links to sources about optics and photonics research.