Education
Education has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Education | L |
| Adult Education | LC5225 |
| Basic Education | LC1035 |
| Business Education | HF1100-1121 |
| Career Education | LC1044 |
| Continuing Education | LC5215-5220 |
| Distance Education | LC5800 |
| Education, Elementary | LB1500-1650 |
| Education, Secondary | LB1607-1620 |
| Instructional Systems | LB1050 |
| Progressive Education | LB14.7 |
| Religious Education | BV1471 |
| Special Education | LC3950-3965 |
| Teaching | LB1025.2 |
| Universities and Colleges | LB2322 |
Education Print Resources
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1997. - Comprises terms of relevent legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions.[REF LC1099.D53 1997]
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation. Denver: Love Pub., 1997.- Authoritative resource for vaocabulary in special education and rehabilitation.[REF LC3957.V47 1997]
Greenwood Dictionary of Education. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2003. - Authoritative difinitions for more that 2,600 terms that apply to educational research, practice and theory. References to signi[REF LB15 .G68 2003]
Learning Theories, A to Z. Westport: Oryx Press, 2002. - This single volume work provides reference information on learning theories about K-12 education, higher education, and industry education and training environments.[REF LB15.L4695 2002]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Education. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2003. - Eight volume reference set that covers virtually every area of education, recent developments, and controversial issues. Provides a bibliography for each subject area, a chronology of education in America, summaries of federal legislation since 1787, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions affecting education.[REF LB15 .E47 2003 ]
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development. Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 2005. - This 3 volume set is divided into 29 chapters which have anywhere from 3 to 12 entries each. It provides an in depth look at human development and educaiton. The reference resource contains bibliographic references and an index.[REF LB15.E473 2005]
International Encyclopedia of Education. New York: Elsevier Science, 1994. - Ten volume reference set covers the diverse areas of education. Ranging from the most technical empirical methods to the broadest aspects of educational policy making.[REF LB15.I569 1994]
Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2001. - Essays about the debate over the viability and direction of educational standards and testing in the United States.[REF LB2822.82 .S82 2001 ]
Journals
American Journal of Education. - Published quarterly this professional journal discusses issues in primary and secondary education in the United States. Articles contain references and notes.[L11.S55]
Education. - This periodical seeks to support the teaching and learning aspects of primary and university education. The journal comes out quarterly and it looks at issues world wide. References and an abstract are included with articles.[L11.E2]
Educational Studies. - Journal produced by the American Educational Studies Association. Includes one special issue a year dealing with specific topics in education and articles include references.[L11.E463]
The High School Journal. - Published bi-monthly by the UNC(University of North Carolina) at Chapel Hill. Discusses issues in American Secondary Education. The journal includes references.[L11.H5]
Journal of Higher Education - Published bi-monthly by Ohio State University this periodical discusses issues in higher education and includes references.[L11.J78]
Journal of Learning Disabilities. - This professional periodical is published six times annually by the Hammill Institute on Disabilities. Articles contain abstracts and references. The journal discusses issues in learning related to disabilities.[LB1134 .J68]
Education Electronic Resources
Databases
Education Full Text - Selectively indexes and abstracts articles form more than 400 periodicals. Many articles are available full text.
ERIC - The world's largest education index, with more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles. ERIC provides primarily abstracts of articles, not the articles themselves. An ERIC Document or an ERIC Digest article may be available full text on-line, or on microfiche on the third floor of the library. Terminology: ED=ERIC Document; EJ=ERIC Journal.
JSTOR - A full-text journal database covering number of fields, including education. This is a good database for historic research and an excellent resource for finding seminal articles in the field of education.
Teacher Reference Center - This is an index of over 260 titles. Provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literary Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Websites
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence - An electronic resource created by the government of the United States. The website contains more than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources from dozens of federal agencies.
International Bureau of Education - This website created by UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization) contains information about education systems world wide. It offers free access to several databases and publications.
National Center for Education - Website created by the U.S. Department of Education contains an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000-2007. The resource is updated semi-regularly making it more up to date than the print version.
Texas Digital Library Theses and Dissertations - An open source repository of theses and dissertations from four different Texas universities(Texas A&M, Texas Tech University, UT Austin, and UT Arlington). This resource by the Texas Digital Library covers numerous disciplines for the years 2002 to 2008.
Texas Education Agency - Website by the government of the State of Texas. Contains teacher resources and data on education in the state of Texas.