Economics and Finance
Economics and Finance have many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Economics | HB |
| Comparative Economics | HB |
| Economic Development | HB-HD |
| Economic History | HD-J |
| Keynesian Economics | HB |
| Macroeconomics | HB |
| Supply Side Economics | HB |
| Finance | HG |
| Banks and Banking | HG |
| Finance Personal | HF-HG |
| Wealth | HB-HD |
Economics and Finance -- Print Resources
Dictionaries
An Eponymous dictionary of economics: a guide to laws and theorems named after economists. Northampton, MA: 2004. This is the first dictionary of eponyms (the practice of placing the name of the scientist to all or part of his or her theory) in economics and contains hundreds of eponyms. Entries are cross referenced and have bibliographies for further reading. [ HB61 .E66 2004]
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics. New York, Penguin Books 2004 Detailed, practical and international in scope, it provides a wide range of economic terms, from acceleration principle to X-efficiency, globalization to venture capital, and from Euro to zero-sum game. Includes general economic terms, economic theory, coverage of development economics and much more. [ HB61 .B36 2003]
Dictionary of Economics. Princeton, NJ 2003, 4th Edition (The Economist Series). Contains more than 2,000 entries covering common economic terms; works by noted economists such as Keynes, Galbraith, etc.; historical development of the science of economics; latest theories. Excellent resource for students who need information about economics in daily work pertaining to business, finance, teaching, etc. [ HB61 .B33 2003]
The ultimate business dictionary: defining the world at work. Cambridge, MA, Perseus Publications 2003. Provides more than 6,000 entries pertaining to business terminology and concepts. Includes translations of terms into Chinese, Japanese, French, German and Spanish (Castilian and Latin American). Biographical profiles of key business leaders, listings of international stock exchanges and trade organizations. Also includes a section on finance and accounting terms. [ HF1001 .U48 2003]
Financial Lexicon: a compendium of financial definitions, acronyms, and colloquialisms. New York, NY Palgrave Macmillan. Arranged alphabetically, entries are easy to read financial definitions and descriptions. Informal and formal terminology is explained focusing on commonly used terms. [ REF HG151 .B2697 2005]A dictionary of finance and banking. New York, Oxford University Press 2005, 3rd Edition. Provides international coverage intended for both professionals and students in finance and banking. Contains over 5,000 entries of vocabulary used in banking, money markets, foreign exchange, financial futures and options, commodity markets, takeovers and mergers, etc. [ REF HG151 .D54 2005]
Encyclopedias
An encyclopedia of macroeconomics. Northampton, MA, Edward Elgar 2002. Alphabetically ordered entries cover definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and contributions of major thinkers. Entries include approximately 100 specially commissioned main entries from renowned group of scholars. Authoritative source on macroeconomics. [ HB172.5 .E55 2002]
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures. New York, Facts on File, Inc. 2007. Four volumes. Provides objective description of dominant political, economic, social and cultural systems of countries of the world. Alphabetical listings. [ REF G63 .K874 2007]
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance. Detroit, MI Macmillan Reference, USA 2007. Two volumes. Approximately 315 articles entries covering areas of business such as accounting, economics, finance, information systems, law, management and marketing. Arrangement is alphabetical and contains a lot of useful information. [ UTPA E-Book Electronic Source]
Encyclopedia of Finance. New York, New York Springer 2006. Covers all aspects of finance, including financial management, insurance, real estate, options and futures, etc. Statistical applications in finance (portfolio analysis, option pricing models, etc.) are also included. [ UTPA E-Book Electronic Source]
Encyclopedia of American Business. New York, New York Facts on File 2004. Guides students and nonspecialists through jargon of business world pertaining to U.S. business. Covers five general areas: accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing. Entries are alphabetical and contain current bibliographic information. [ REF HF1001 .E463 2004]
Journals
See Journals - Subject headings in Business and Economics for a more comprehensive listing of journals.
ABA Banking Journal. New York, published for the American Banking Association by Simmons-Boardman Pub. Co. Published monthly, this journal identifies and explores business and social trends and helps bankers understand the legislative and regulatory issues that pertain to banking. [ Electronic Source]
Applied Financial Economics. London, Chapman and Hall. Provides an international forum for applied research on financial markets, including the bond and equity markets, derivative securities markets, the foreign exchange market, corporate finance, market microstructure and cognate areas. Looks at the link between real and financial sides of the economy, forecasting and recent developments in econometric techniques applicable to financial research. Covers financial centers in Europe, North America, the Far East and Australasia, and emerging markets in developing countries. [ HG11 .A77]
The Economist. London, Economist Newspaper Ltd. Provides news analysis, country briefings (including background profiles, statistics, etc.), articles on management and business education, currency data, etc. [ HG11 .E2]
Financial Management. Atlanta, GA: Financial Management Association. Covers global trends in financial markets and economics. [ Electronic Source]
Financial Times. North American edition. New York, New York: F.T. Publications. Overview of news in international affairs. [ Electronic Source]
Fortune. New York, New York: Time-Fortune Corp. Published biweekly, global business magazine. Provides annual rankings of companies such as the "Fortune 500" and "Best companies to Work For." Provides information that facilitates understanding economic trends and business strategies. [ HF5001 .F7]
Journal of Economic Perspectives. Published by the American Economic Association. Journal facilitates understanding of economic research, provides economic analysis of public policy issues, encourages interdisciplinary research, offers source for current economic thinking and addresses issues relating to the profession of economics. [ HB1 .J643]
The Journal of Finance. New York, American Finance Association. Publishes research from all major fields of financial research and is a widely cited academic journal in economics as well as on finance. Published six times a year. [ HG1 .J6]
Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis. Seattle, Washington: University of Washington Foster School of Business. Quarterly publication, this journal publishes research in financial economics, including corporate finance, investments, quantitative methods for financial researchers, etc. [ HG1 .J65]
Kiplinger Personal Finance. Washington, D.C.: Kiplinger Washington Editors, Inc. Publishes information on managing money, including savings, investing, paying for college, etc. [ HC101 .C47]
Economics and Finance -- Electronic Resources
Databases
Business and Company Resource Center "displays company profiles, including parent/sibling relationships, industry rankings, products and brands, current investment ratings, and financial ratios and much more" for over 300,000 companies.
Business Full Text provide citations and abstracts to hundreds of business periodicals. It also includes full text/full image articles.
Business Knowledge Research from The Conference Board has full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and U.S. and global economics.
Commerce Business Daily (CBDNet) "is the Government's official FREE electronic version of the Commerce Business Daily (CBD)."
Datastream contains more than two million financial instruments, securities and indicators for over 175 countries in 60 markets. Holding up to 50 years of history and over 8,000 different fields, it provide access to over one million time series. Datastream is available only at the College of Business and in the Library. Ask at the Reference Desk for more information.
EconLit "the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature." It contains over 700,000 records, with some links to full text.
Financial Times allows you to "search and read over 8.5 million articles from 3,000 periodicals worldwide, most of them for free."
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe has "full text company news and financial information...full text federal, state and international legal materials...full text and abstracted medical and health information...general reference sources" and national and international news.
MergentOnline (formerly FISOnline) has business and financial information Mergent, Inc. (formerly Moody's (Mergent currently does not work with older Netscape browsers or with Apple/MacIntosh computers).
Regional Business News provide comprehensive full text for 35 international newswires and over 50 regional business publications, plus citations and abstracts for additional publications.
STAT-USA/Internet Databases include the National Trade Data Bank, which provides full text information on international commerce and foreign trade. This product is available only from computers in the Library. If you have trouble connecting to the data, please go to the 2nd floor Reference Desk for a username and password.
World Data Analyst from Encyclopaedia Britannica offers statistical portraits of the countries of the world and tools for making comparative charts and tables.
Websites
http://www.bloomberg.com/ Economic news. Provides comprehensive coverage of companies, markets, industries, economies and governments.
http://www.forbes.com/ Forbes Magazine. Publishes articles on news in the business world, technology, personal finance, etc. Provides Dow Jones Industrial average, Nasdaq composition and SAP 500 indexes in real time. /p>
http://www.npr.org/ Economic news from National Public Radio online website.