November 21, 2009
Document Actions

Criminal Justice



Criminal Justice has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Criminal Justice HV8600-8700
Arrest HV8080
Bail HV6025-6080
Crime HV6000-6500
Law Enforcement HV7921
Police HV7935-7936
Prisons HV8665


Criminal Justice Print Resources


Handbooks


The Oxford Handbook of Criminology. - Largely based on British material this useful resource on crime and law enforcement discusses recent developments as well as theories in criminology. It also contains extensive bibliographies and a guide to further reading. [REF HV6025.O87 1997]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of American Crime. - Two volume set of encyclopedia's that take a look at the expanse of criminality in the United States. Covering both organized and disorganized crime as well as law enforcement this reference resource provides a good look at American Crime. [REF HV6789.S54 2001]

The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement - A single volume encyclopedia that details local, state, and federal police departments as well as individuals that have contributed to the development of American law enforcement. [REF HV8133.N49 2007]

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. - This is a four volume set of Encyclopedias dealing with crime and abnormal psychology. It has over 500 entries each with extensive references. [REF HV6017 .E53 2001]

Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice. - A four volume set of monographs that draws together an extensive amount of information on criminal behavior and societies response to the breaking of law. Entries contain bibliographic references and the set has an index. [REF HV6017.E52 2002]

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences. - Three monograph set detailing modern forensic science. Contains references, index and table of contents in each volume. This is an extensive work covering accreditation of forensic science laboratories to wood analysis. [REF HV8073 .E517 2000]

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement. - This encyclopedia covers topics in law enforcement at the local, state, federal and international level. The subjects are broken up evenly into the three books of the set. Volume one covers state and local, volume two details federal information on law enforcement and volume three looks at law enforcement on a country by country baises. [REF HV7921 .E53 2005]

The Encyclopedia of Robberies, Heists, and Capers. - A single volume reference resource looking at crime, crooks, and cops. It discusses both international and United States criminals and law enforcement.[REF HV6648.N49]


Journals


Crime & Justice International. - Published bi-monthly this periodical is produced by the cooperation of the Office of International Criminal Justice and the Criminal Justice Center at Sam Houston State University. It discusses issues of international justice and criminology pulling information from a number of sources and experts world wide. [PER HV7231.C7]

Criminology. - A journal that is devoted to the study of crime, deviant behavior, and related phenomena, as found in the social and behavioral sciences and in the fields of law, criminal justice, and history. Its major emphases are theory, research, historical issues, policy evaluation, and current controversies concerning crime, law, and justice. All taken within a interdisciplinary context. [PER HV6001.C68]

International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice. - This periodical was founded in 1977 by Prof. Dae H. Chang (Professor Emeritus from Wichita State University, Kansas), it has provided a forum for scholars, academics and practitioners who are interested in comparative theory and empirical research in the area of criminal justice. The purpose of this journal is to encourage exchange of theoretical views and scientific findings to develop, promote and advance key research areas in criminal justice for use in classroom and in practice. [PER HV6001.I57]

Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice. - A periodical that presents single-themed special issues that focus on a critical topic in contemporary criminal justice in order to provide a cogent, thorough, and timely exploration of the subject. It takes an international approach not concentrating on any one country. [PER HV7231.J59]

The Prison Journal. - An International Forum on Incarceration and Alternative Sanctions was begun by the Pennsylvania Prison Society, America's oldest prison reform organization. This periodical come out quarterly, and has extensive references. [PER HV7231.P8]

Theoretical Criminology. - This periodical is an interdisciplinary and international journal for the advancement of the theoretical aspects of criminology. It is concerned with theories, concepts, narratives and myths of crime, criminal behaviour,social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice and social regulation. [PER HV6001.T44]


Criminal Justice Electronic Resources


Databases


Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. This includes extensive resources on Criminal Justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts - "provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies."

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index - provides citations/abstracts from around 200 journals, with full text/full image articles from more than one fourth of them.


Websites


Bureau of Justice Statistics - Webpage created by the Department of Justice contains crime statistics as well as links to important resources like the FBI's Uniform Crime Report.

The Texas Crime Report - A site developed by the Texas Department of Public Safety. This resource not only has the current crime report but has this seminal tool archived back to 1999. The page also has links to the Crime Record Service.

National Institute of Justice - NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues. NIJ provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the State and local levels. NIJ's principal authorities are derived from the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968, as amended (see 42 USC ยง 3721-3723) and Title II of the Homeland Security Act of 2002.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime - This is the website for the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), which is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997 through a merger between the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention, UNODC operates in all regions of the world through an extensive network of field offices.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-03-2009 08:44