Communication Disorders
Communication Disorders has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Communication Disorders | RC423 |
| Communicative Disorders | RC423 |
| Hearing Disorders | RF290 |
| Language Disorders | RC423 |
| Speech Disorders | RC424 |
Communication Disorders Print Resources
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Communication Disorders. - is a general dictionary of terms dealing with communication disorders. It is not illustrated but has an extensive bibliography at the end of the monograph and several useful appendixes. [REF RC423.M597 2005]
Singular's Illustrated Dictionary of Speech Language.- is a dictionary is an extensive book of terms dealing with all aspects of communication disorders. It is sparsely illustrated and lacks a bibliography. [REF RC423.S533]
Encyclopedias
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders. - is a comprehensive volume that presents essential information on communication sciences and disorders. Divided up into four parts Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing it contains both extensive bibliographies and an index. [REF RC423.M56 2004]
Journals
Folia Phoniatrica et Logopaedica. - provides a survey of intnational research in physiology and pathology of speech and voice organs. Articles contain extensive scientific data and references. [PER RC423.F6]
International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders. - This periodical looks at the subject of language and communication disorders from a international perspective. Articles contain references and in some cases appendixes. The serial also has book reviews. [PER RC423.A1 B7]
Journal of Communication Disorders. - is a periodical that is designed for speech-language pathology and audiology professionals. It covers topics in communication disorders from a clinical view. The journal also offers continuing education credits for speech-language pathologists and audiologists. [PER RC423.A1 J64]
Journal of Fluency Disorders: Official Journal of the International Fluency Association. - is a peer reviewed periodical that discusses the topic of fluency disorders primarily stuttering. It's articles have bibliographies and usually extensive statistical as well as scientific data. [PER RC423.A1 J66]
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research. - pertains broadly to studies of the processes and disorders of speech, language, and hearing, and to the diagnosis and treatment of such disorders. The periodical's articles report scientific information and have extensive bibliographic support. [PER RC423.J7]
Communication Disorders Electronic Resources
Databases
Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, communication disorders etc.
CINAHL - indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.
ComAbstracts (from CIOS) - contains "article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies."
ComDisDome - (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome) indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, grants, and other web sites dealing with speech-language pathology and audiology.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) - indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.
Websites
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association - is the official website for this organization. It contains documents pertaining to the profession and even statistical reports.
National Center for Voice & Speech - website developed by a consortium of institutions dedicated to exploring the topic of communication disorders. The e-resource has articles, tutorials and an extensive bibliography on speech.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders - electronic resource developed by the National Institute of Health. This website has information including free government publications on communication disorders.
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services - created by the Department of Education this website has communication disorders resources directed at teachers and other educational professionals.