Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Clinical Laboratory Sciences Print Resources
Journals
Blood, Journal of the American Society of Hematology. - This peer-reviewed journal is published weekly, and covers such subjects as hematology, leukocytes, platelets, and immunology along with many other topics.[PER RB145.B56]
Clinical Chemistry. - This peer-reviewed journal publishes original research on clinical laboratory practices . Articles are published on such topics as instrumentation, analytical techniques, statistical analysis, and diagnostics, in addition to other subjects. [PER RB40.C5]
Clinical Laboratory Science. - This journal, published by the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science, publishes articles that are of concern to both the practicing clinical laboratory professional and the educator. This journal includes continuing education tests that can be sent in for credit for licensure, etc.[PER RB37.A1C35]
Lab Medicine. - This periodical, published by the American Society for Clinical Pathology, contains articles on scientific, technical, managerial, and educational facets of clinical laboratory sciences.[PER RB37.A1L33]
Medical Laboratory Observer. - This periodical offers articles on laboratory methods and testing, along with continuing education units (CEUs) for many of these articles. Tests are included in the periodical that a practitioner can take and send in for grading. Also included are tips to the practitioner, laboratory management advice, and industry information.[PER RB36.M17]
Reference Manuals
Effects of Disease on Clinical Laboratory Tests. - This two-volume set lists different laboratory tests, and explains possible diseases that may be responsible for a test abnormality.[REF RB38.2.F75 2001]
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference. - This concise manual provides quick access to information about a number of diagnostic and laboratory tests. Entries provide such information as the type of test, normal findings, procedure and patient care, and abnormal findings, along with other pertinent information.[RB38.2 .P337 2007 ]
Clinical Laboratory Sciences Electronic Resources
Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) - indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.
MTS Lab Training Library - provides samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.
Websites
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science - This website contains invaluable information dealing with the profession of clinical laboratory science practitioners, including information about the association’s committees, conventions, awards and scholarships, and publications.
Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians - This site (from the Occupational Outlook Handbook) contains career information for Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians. It is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (United States Department of Labor) and contains information such as employment outlook, projected earnings, job outlook, and other related information.
Lab Tests Online - This site offers information about the many different tests that Clinical Laboratory professionals administer to patients. This site can provide fast references about individual tests and assist in keeping current in the field.
National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences - This site deals with the accreditation of Clinical Laboratory Science programs, including the program at the University of Texas-Pan American. The site contains program reports, accreditation standards, and scholarship information.