Biology
Science is simply common sense at its best. --Thomas Huxley
Biology has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.
| Biology | QH |
| Bioengineering | TA164 |
| Biological diversity | QH541 |
| Biochemistry | QP531 |
| Botany | QK47 |
| Ecology | QH541 |
| Genetics | QH430 |
| Physiology | QP34.5 |
| Parasitology | QL757 |
| Microbiology | QR41.2 |
| Human biology | QH308.2 |
Biology Print Resources
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Biology. - Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. This illustrated source is contains over 5,500 entries and covers the areas of biology, biophysics and biochemistry as well as containing some biographical information on top scientists. [REF QH302.5.D54 2008]
Concise Encyclopedia of Biology. - Berlin; New York: Walter de Gruyter, 1996. This source is a translation of the German ABC Biologie. It is illustrated and covers the areas of anatomy, biochemistry, botany, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, physiology, and zoology. [REF QH302.5.A2313 1996]
Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms. - New York: J. Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1995. Illustrated and containing bibliographical references, this source contains 23,000 terms covering many areas including zoology, botany, environmental, biochemistry, medicine, genetic engineering, and biotechnology. [REF QH302.5.H65 1995]
The Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Natural History. - Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1987. This source contains more than 10,000 entries covering plants, animals, microorganisms, and fossils. It includes both the common and scientific names and contains reference charts. [REF QH13.L56 1987]
International Dictionary of Medicine and Biology. - 3 vols. New York: Wiley, 1986. This comprehensive source contains an index and covers many including medicine, biology and biomedical specialities, ecology, environmental health, infectious diseases, occupational medicine and toxicology. It contains over 150,000 terms and 159,000 definitions. [REF R121.I58 1986]
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Human Biology. - 9 vols. San Diego: Academic Press, 1997. This source is illustrated, contains bibliographical references and an index. It provides comprehensive and authoritative information on the area of human biology. It contains more than 600 articles in 37 different biological fields. It is useful for researchers, students, practicing scientists, and general readers. [REF QP11.E53 1997]
Frontiers of Life. - 4 vols. San Diego, Calif.: Academic; Roma: Treccani, 2002. This illustrated source covers the topics of the origins of life, cells and organisms, intelligent systems, and the living world. It addresses the areas of biology that will need the most work in the future. It contains both bibliographical references and an index. [REF QH302.5.F76 2002]
Life on Earth [electronic resource]: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002. An electronic version of the print volumes that is available through NetLibrary. This source explores concept of biodiversity and events and activities that threaten it. It is illustrated and contains bibliographical references and an index. [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of Evolution. - New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 2007. This source covers the topic of evolution from its history to current times and includes common misconceptions. It includes essays that discuss ethical issues relating to evolution and a summary of Darwin's Origin of Species. It is illustrated and provides bibliographical references and an index. [REF QH360.2.R53 2007]
The Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. - Oxford; Cambridge, Mass., USA: Blackwell Science, 1994. This source covers the topics of structural biology, molecular genetics, bacteria and bacteriophages, cell biology, evolution, developmental biology, immunology, neurobiology, molecular medicine, and plant molecular biology. It contains illustrations and provides cross-references for terms. [REF QH506.E53 1994]
Journals
American Scientist. - This magazine is illustrated and features articles on science and technology. Articles are written by prominent scientists and engineers and cover many areas, such as molecular biology to computer engineering. [PER LJ85.S502]
Science. - This journal provides original scientific research, global news and commentary. It is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. [PER Q1.S35]
BioScience. - This journal offers authoritative overviews of current research in biology. Issues contain essays and discuss education, public policy, history and other concepts affecting the biological sciences. [PER QH301.A512]
The Quarterly Review of Biology. - This journal covers all the areas of biology and emphasizes evolution, ecology, and organismal biology. It covers both historical and current issues and provides book reviews as well. [PER QH301.Q3]
American Journal of Botany. - This journal provides readers with scholarly information pertaining to all areas of plant biology, all levels of organization, and all plant groups and allied organisms. [PER QK1.B345]
Biology Electronic Resources
Databases
arXiv.org- archives preprints in physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
MTS Lab Training Library- provides samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.
Nature Chemical Biology- "is a monthly [full text] multidisciplinary journal providing an international forum for the timely publication of significant new research at the interface between chemistry and biology."
Nature Materials- "is a monthly multi-disciplinary [full text] journal aimed at bringing together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science, blending physics, chemistry, biology and engineering into an innovative product."
Nature Structural and Molecular Biology Archives- includes complete articles for the period January 1994--April 1998.
PrePRINT Network- "is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include the great bulk of physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine."
ScienceDirect- provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. Click on either the Publications button or the Search button to begin your search.
Websites
The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online (or Darwin Online)- Based at the University of Cambridge, this site contains a collection of Darwin's published writings and unpublished papers. More than 77,000 pages of searchable text and 188,000 electronic images are available as well as free mp3 downloads of Darwin's works.
MedBio World- This site gives users access to reference tools, directories, careers, news, databases, and journal lists pertaining to professional medical and biotechnology information.
BioMed Central Databases- An online catalog containing more than 1100 sites dealing with a wide range of biomedical topics. Most of the databases are free to access. It is hosted by BioMed Central, the Open Access Publisher.
Science.gov- This site searches more than 38 databases and 1,950 websites. It offers access to authoritative U.S. government science information.
The Academy of Natural Sciences, Library- This site provides links to access multiple sources pertaining to biology and biodiversity.
Yahoo! Biology Directory- Provides hundreds of different links pertaining to biology.