| Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc. |
| ACP Medicine "bring[s] to its
subscribers the assurance of authoritative, evidence-based
recommendations presented in readily accessible formats, with the
ultimate goal of strengthening medical decision-making for the
practicing physician." |
| Alcohol
Studies Database "contains over 80,000 citations for journal
articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and
audio-visual materials." |
| Alternative Health Watch
"provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including
full text for many peer-reviewed journals...[with] in-depth coverage
across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and
alternative medicine dating back to 1990." |
| American Occupational Therapy
Association has bibliographic information on occupational therapy
and related disciplines. Click on OT Search to start your
search. |
| Annual Reviews has
citations and abstracts for biomedical, physical, and social
sciences. |
| BioMed Central "is an
independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free
access to... biomedical research" it publishes online. |
| National Cancer
Institute, from the National Cancer Institute (National Institutes
of Health) provides information on types of cancer, clinical trials,
treatment and prevention, and more, from peer-reviewed publications,
NCI publications, and other web sites. Formerly called
Cancer Literature. |
| CHARTing Health
Information for Texas provides "a comprehensive collection of links
to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the
state of Texas." Its web links include causes of death, maternal and
child health, economic, social, and other demographic factors, and much
more. |
| CINAHL Plus with Full Text
indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals,
including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937. |
| Cochrane Collaboration
includes abstracts of articles on evidence-based medicine. |
| The Cochrane Library "is a
unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of
interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to
provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health
care and to inform those receiving care." |
| ComDisDome (Communication
Sciences and Disorders Dome) indexes and abstracts journal articles,
books, dissertations, grants, and other web sites dealing with
speech-language pathology and audiology. |
| Consumer Health Complete
"is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an
overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database
covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol,
fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men &
women's health, etc." |
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
| Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
| eMedicine "is the largest
and most current clinical knowledge base available to physicians and
health professionals." |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| Fuente Academica "is a unique
collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American
and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many
academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences,
political science, law, computer science, library & information
sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and
theology." |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
| Health and Wellness
Resource Center searches "2,200 general interest health
publications, over 400 health and medical journals," and several other
health reference sources. |
| Infotrac Health Reference
Center-Academic has a wide range of articles on health and
medicine, many of which are full-text. |
| Health Source -
Consumer Edition provides "information on many health topics
including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare,
sports medicine and general health;... features searchable full text
for nearly 150 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily basis. |
| Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition "provides nearly 550 scholarly full text
journals focusing on many medical disciplines,...features abstracts and
indexing for nearly 850 journals,...[and] is updated on a daily
basis. |
| HighWire
Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science
on Earth ... assisting in the online publication of ...[hundreds of
thousands of] free full-text articles." |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| iSafetyNet.US, the "Health
and Human Services Web Navigator...provides customized...cybrarian
services for individuals and organizations." |
| Journals@Ovid provides
citations, abstracts, and references to articles from nursing
and other medical journals, and some full text. |
| LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
| MedicLatina "is a Spanish
language collection of medical research and investigative journals
published by renowned Latin American medical publishers...[which]
provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical
journals." |
| MEDLINE (EBSCO)
indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United
States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of
biomedical and related fields. |
| MEDLINEPlus is "goldmine of
good health information from the world's largest medical library, the
National Library of Medicine." |
| MEDLINEPlus Informacióź €e
Salud de la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina. |
| Micromedex has clinical
information about drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, and more;
CareNotes has complete, easy-to-understand information to give
to patients about their conditions, in both English and Spanish. Ask at
the Reference Desk for the Username and Password. |
| MTS Lab Training Library provides
samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs,
electrical/engineering safety training, and more. |
| NASW Clinical
Register "provides a listing of clinical social workers who have
met national standards for education and experience." |
| National Cancer Institute,
from the National Cancer Institute (National Institutes of Health)
provides information on types of cancer, clinical trials, treatment and
prevention, and more, from peer-reviewed publications, NCI
publications, and other web sites. |
| Natural & Alternative
Treatments has "articles on medical conditions, presenting in an
evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for
use in their treatment...[including information] on herbs and
supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as
acupuncture and homeopathy." |
| NLM Gateway "allows
users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National
Library of Medicine (NLM)," including MEDLINE and other medical
databases |
| NurseSearch searches
the American Nurses Association's NursingWorld web site. |
|
PDQ (Physician Data Query), from the National Cancer Institute,
"contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening,
prevention, genetics, and supportive care." |
| POPLINE "is
the world's largest bibliographic database on population, family
planning, and related health issues. |
| PsycINFO "contains more than
one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
| PubMed
"a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over
11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life
science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full
text articles and other related resources." |
| Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
| SpringerLINK provides
abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published
by Springer. The articles/journals are in the fields of computer
science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life
and physical sciences. Click on search to begin your search for
articles. |
| SUMSearch searches
"Internet sites that contain medical evidence written by qualified
professionals." |
| Texas Cancer Data Center
"can be used by Texans to find resources related to different phases of
cancer care - prevention, screening and early detection, diagnosis and
treatment, continuing care - and to answer questions they may have
about cancer." |
| TOXNET is "a cluster of
databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas." |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| WebMD is now ACP Medicine. |